Saltar para: Posts [1], Pesquisa e Arquivos [2]


Percurso 7 - Tour Arrábida

por Turiventos, em 17.10.16

Percurso 7 - Tour Arrábida

Um passeio ao longo da margem direita do rio Tejo, conhecida como a "Costa Azul", rodeado por mar e rio em 75% de seu território.

arrabida.jpg

 

 

O passeio começa com uma visita ao Cristo Rei, em Almada, inaugurado em Maio de 1959 por uma devoção a Cristo e inspirada por um monumento semelhante, construído no Rio de Janeiro, Brasil, com a imagem do Cristo Redentor do Corcovado.

Até ao topo do monumento sao 115 metros, com vista para o rio e mesmo ao lado da ponte 25 de Abril, que liga as duas margens.

Do topo você pode ter uma vista ao longo de 12 kms, se o tempo permitir, temos uma vista privilegiada sobre Lisboa.

cristo-rei-inaugurado-1959-6.jpg

 

 

O próximo ponto de paragem está em Cacilhas para ver a fragata D. Fernando II e Glória, o último navio de guerra inteiramente à vela da Marinha Portuguesa, transformado em um navio museu.

fragata cacilhas.JPG

 

 

Partimos em direçao ao sul e parar numa área chamada Lagoa de Albufeira, na Aldeia do Meco.

Esta lagoa é alimentada por água doce provenientes de ribeiras e nas proximidades da água do mar quando as dunas estão abertas na primavera. Tem uma profundidade de 15 metros, considerado um dos mais profundos de Portugal integrado na Reserva Ecológica Nacional.

Albufeira.JPG

 

A próxima paragem é o Cabo Espichel, onde o Oceano Atlântico tem que se curvar para se mover para o sul.

Por toda esta área podemos ver alguns símbolos da região, como o Santuário de Nossa Senhora da Pedra Mua (ou Cabo Espichel).

De acordo com uma lenda, neste lugar era visto uma imagem da Virgem no mar, o que faz chegar lá numerosos grupos de peregrinos. Também neste local encontrou várias pegadas de dinossauros do Jurássico.

cabo-espichel.jpg

 

Deixamos este lugar e seguimos para uma vila de pescadores chamada Sesimbra.

Entre a montanha e o mar, o sol radiante brilha nesta cidade que cria uma atmosfera pitoresca.

No topo da vila você pode admirar toda a área por meio de seu castelo ou fortaleza. Podemos ter um olhar sobre a vila e as suas águas cristalinas.

A gastronomia ligada ao mar dá fama a esta vila.

sesimbra.jpg

 

Continuamos ao longo do mar e chegamos a um dos lugares mais bonitos de Portugal, Portinho da Arrábida, localizada no Parque Natural da Arrábida, onde as águas do mar transparente contrastam com o verde das colinas, declarada uma das sete maravilhas naturais Portugal.

arrabida praia.jpg

 

 

A última paragem é a vila de Azeitão, conhecida pelos seus vinhos, queijos e tortas famosa de Azeitão.

Aqui encontramos palácios muito ricos, mansões e quintas, onde fica a Fazenda Real e vários outros palácios entre os séculos XV e XVIII.

azeitao.jpg

 

 

Ao longo desta zona devem numerosas adegas premiadas internacionalmente pelos seus vinhos e, em particular, o Moscatel.

azeitao bacalhoa.jpg

Casa-Ermelinda-Freitas.jpg

  

O passeio termina com uma degustação de vinhos na companhia de José Maria da Fonseca, fundada em 1834, que permanece na mesma família até os dias atuais.

jose_m_fonseca8.jpg

 

 

Um passeio que fica na memória para todos aqueles que fazê-lo.

 

post by: António Duro

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 14:24

circuito cenro interior.jpg

Circuito centro pontos.jpg

 

Distance - 1,000 kms. Difficulty - Ages. Circuit - Urban / Mountain Duration - 8 days

 

Castelo de Alomoural (Almourol Castle) - The Almourol Castle is situated on a small island that was already inhabited in Roman times of the peninsula, from the 8th century, was occupied by the Muslims, who have conquered the Visigoths. Within the Christian reconquest of the Iberian Peninsula, Almourol was conquered by D. Afonso Henriques in 1129, which gave the Templar Order.

 

almoural.jpg

 

Castelo Branco (White Castle) - Located in Beira Baixa, the Castelo Branco is home district and one of the largest counties in the country, the center of a vast plateau region between the basins of the rivers Pônsul and Ocresa.

Castelo Branco owes its name to the existence of a Luso-Roman fort, Castra Leuca, at the top of the Hill of Cardosa, where took place the settlement of this town, then dubbed Albi Castrum.

The city was conquered from the Moors in the 12th century, and later some areas were offered to the Temple Order, charging them of their settlement and defense, to who built the castle of the town.

Cast._Branco_-_Jardim_do_Paço_Episcopal.jpg

 

Monsanto (Historical Village) - Monsanto (most Portuguese of Portugal Village) is located northeast of Idanha Land, nestled on the slopes of a steep rise - the hill of Monsanto (Mons Sanctus) - which rises abruptly in the meadow and, in its highest point reaches 758 meters. The different sections of the slope and at the foot of the hill, there are scattered villages, attesting to the population shift toward the plain.

This is a very old place, where there is human presence since the Palaeolithic. Archaeological remains realize a Lusitanian Castro and Roman occupation in the field called S. Lourenço (St. Lawrence), at the foot of the hill. Remains of Visigoth and Arab stay were also found.

 

monsanto1.jpg

 

Covilha - The city of Covilha is located in the southeastern slope of the Serra da Estrela and is one of the urban centers of greater importance in the region.

The highest point in mainland Portugal, the Tower (1993 m), belongs to the parishes of Unhais da Serra (Covilhã), São Pedro (Manteigas), Loriga (Seia) e Alvoco da Serra (Seia), being included in three municipalities: Covilha, Manteigas and Seia, but is located around 20 km from the urban center of Covilha, and therefore the nearest Portuguese city of the highest point in mainland Portugal.

 

covilhã.jpg

 

Belmonte (Historical Village) - The story of Belmonte arises normally associated with the history of the Cabrais and the Jews. It was the birthplace of Pedro Alvares Cabral, who in 1500 commanded the second armed to India, during which it was discovered officially Brazil.

The human presence in the current municipality of Belmonte is proven since the earliest times. The Anta Caria, the Castros of Caria and Chandeirinha certify the longevity of fixing the pre- and proto-history. The Roman presence is also evident by the testimony of Centum Tower Cellas or the Villa Quinta da Fórnea, waypoints, the road linking Mérida to the Guarda.

 

belmonte.jpeg

 

Guarda - In the early centuries of Romanization of the Iberian Peninsula inhabited the region of Guarda Lusitanian people. Including the Igaeditani, the Oppidani Lancienses and Transcudani. These people united under an authentic federation were to resist the Romanization for two centuries. Unlike Latinized these people did not consume wine, but before beer acorn. His weapon of choice was the “falcate” - a sword curve - which easily broke the Roman swords because of its metallurgical superiority. Their pagan gods also differed from the Romans can still meet some Lusitanian religious inscriptions in temples as the Cabeço of Fráguas.

The best known and consensual explanation of the meaning of the epithet of "city of five F's' meaning Forte (strong), Farta (abundant), Fria (Cold), Fiel (loyal) and Formosa (taiwan). The explanation of these Fs as subsequently adapted to other cities is simple:

Forte (strong): the castle tower, the walls and the geographical position demonstrate their strength; Farta (abundant): Due to the richness of the Mondego valley; Fria (Cold): the proximity to the Serra da Estrela and the fact that it is situated at an altitude explain this F Fiel (loyal): because Álvaro Gil Cabral - which was Alcaide-Mor Castle Guard and great great grandfather of Pedro Alvares Cabral - refused to surrender the keys of the city to the King of Castile during the 1383-85 crisis. Breath still had to fight in the Battle of Aljubarrota and take a seat in the Cortes 1385 where elected Master of Avis (John I) as King; Formosa (taiwan): for its natural beauty.

 

guarda.jpg1

 

Almeida (Historical Village) - Also known as "Rock Star," Almeida is located in the district of Guarda, Beira Interior region, specifically in an area called Land of Riba-Coa. Your border character is quite remarkable, since all his confrontation east is with Spain, forming part of the border Portugal-Spain, better known as Ray, meaning that this area also called "Arraiana region."

Received a charter of King Dinis in 1296.

The place names have literal translation from Arabic: Terra Plana ('Flatland)', which makes perfect sense since the territory of the county is largely plateau area. Across the south of the county to the north, and one of the few Portuguese rivers flowing in this direction, the Côa river valley that opens an abrupt plateau, dividing the city into two parts well-creased.

 

almeida-estrela.gif

 

Castelo Rodrigo (Historical Village) - Known as the "Fortress of the turrets," the territory of Riba-Coa was occupied since ancient times, with Paleolithic remains, megalithic, the Celtic culture, Romans and Arabs. The concern with the reorganization and settlement of this area at the time of the reconquest is reflected in donations to the friars Salamantinos, founders of the Order of St. Julian Pereiro, and the first monks of Santa Maria de Aguiar, coming from Zamora, of the Monastery Santa Maria de Aguiar, of Cistercian foundation of the 12th century, it is important testimony.

Captured from the Arabs in the 11th century and dependent on the Kingdom of León, was elevated to municipality village by Alfonso IX, definitely integrating the Portuguese territory to September 12, 1297, by the Treaty of Alcanizes - signed by King Dinis, which confirmed its Foral Trancoso and sent repopulate and rebuild the castle, repeated action of Ferdinand I, which also awarded him Charter Fair, in 1373.

Castelo Rodrigo is surrounded by a walled waist initially composed of 13 turrets (like de Ávila). Retains its medieval maps, which radiates from the citadel and follows the topography. Its streets are interesting houses, some Manueline, other Arab buildings.

Being on the route of pilgrims to Compostela, here stood the Church of Our Lady. Of Rocamador, founded by a brotherhood of hospitable brothers coming from France in the 13th century.

 

castelorodrigo.jpg

 

Trancoso (Historical Village) - Located on top of a plateau, which overlooks a vast territory between the Serra da Estrela and the Douro valley, developed around its castle, founded in the 8th century.

Throughout the Middle Ages, was an extremely important strategic military place, installed in an unstable border region, where there were several conflicts and battles, first among Christians and Muslims and later between Portugal and neighboring kingdoms.

With Foral granted by D. Afonso Henriques (1162-65), at the dawn of nationality, Trancoso was already one of the main towns in the region. It would also be an important trading center; where from D. Afonso III (1273) went to perform one of the oldest and busiest frank fairs in the kingdom, perpetuated in our days by the famed Feira de S. Bartolomeu (St. Bartholomew Fair)

The origin of the name "Trancoso" motivates today speculation and imagination. There are at least two explanations, both mythological bent. Such explanations, however, may not be as fanciful as the match would be led to think. One of these explanations states that the name derives from "troncoso", that is, the name would be to be due to the fact that there are large trees in the area where the city was founded. The second, which was considered by Charles Joly (1818-1902) in 1893, one of the largest trees of Europe, no longer exists, but today you can see impressive trees as the "Linden Great Trancoso". Another explanation, which specifically specific an act of foundation, rather like Rome (cf. Foundation of Rome), states that the city will have been founded by an emissary coming from Egypt or Ethiopia. The emissary name would be Awseya Tarakos, who later would become king of Ethiopia, the Solomonic dynasty. There are also other European cities whose names have some similarities with Trancoso, and there may be some relationship between them (Tarragona, Tarascon, etc.). In Portugal, currently, you can find Trancoso assignment to other locations and places. There is also a river in northern Portugal, the Minho River tributary that name.

 

trancoso.jpg

 

Viseu - The origins of the city of Viseu date back to the Celtic period and with Romanization, was very important, perhaps due to the junction of Roman roads whose proof there are only the milestones. These noticeable align an axis which seems to correspond to the road Merida (Spain), with which intersectaria Olissipo Shut-Bracara bond, the other two poles very influential. Perhaps for that reason may be justified building the octagonal defensive structure, two kilometers perimeter - the Cava de Viriato.

Viseu is associated with Viriato figure, since it is thought that this Lusitanian hero may have been born in this region. After the Roman occupation of the peninsula, followed by the elevation of the city and diocesan already Visigoth domain in the 6th century

Even before the formation of the Portuguese Province, was several times residence of the counts Teresa and Henry, in 1123 it granted a charter. His son D. Afonso Henriques born in Viseu on 5 August de1109, according thesis of historian Almeida Fernandes. The second charter was granted by the son of the counts, D. Afonso Henriques in 1187, and confirmed by D. Afonso II, in 1217.

 

viseu_viseu.jpg

 

Seia - Located on the western side of the Serra da Estrela, the city is 550 m altitude. The climate of the county is temperate with moderate temperatures in summer and cold in winter, with freezing temperatures and snow events, sometimes abundant in the higher parts of the Serra da Estrela. As for the rainfall regime, there is a short dry season, which includes the summer months of July and August.

The early human occupation of the site of the current Seia dates back to pre-Roman times, when the foundation of a village by Turduli, around the 4th century BC, known as Senna. The Turduli built a castro instead of Nogueira, among the mountains of Santana and Carvalha Outeiro. Defended themselves strategically in three forts, smaller, one in San Romao, another in Crestelo and the third in the current Seia. There are also remains of forts in Travancinha, Loriga and S. Romão.

When it was found the Roman invasion of the Iberian Peninsula, the Lusitano made of the mountain, then called Hermínios Montes, its headquarters, which has become a major obstacle to the invaders. This did not stop, however, that the general Galba had slaughtered 30,000 mountaineers Lusitanian.

 

seia.jpg

 

Piódão (Historical Village) - The Piodão "Nativity of the Hawk", village classified as "Public Interest", located in the Serra do ACOR, with an abrupt escarpment deployment and a tight mesh and sinuous structure, well suited the roughness of the surrounding area. Pastures of the Sierra de S. Pedro of Acor, full of springs, attracted the Lusitanian shepherds fed their flocks there. In medieval times, formed a small settlement that was given the name Piódam home, then moved to its present location, perhaps due to the installation of a Cistercian Monastery (which remain no longer traces) which will revamp the place to the 13th century In this monastery can be linked to ancient invocation of Santa Maria (common in Cistercian Abbeys) Mother Church temple redesigned in the 18th century, which has endowed him of a curious facade marked by thin cylindrical towers topped by cones.

 

piodao-portuguese-historic.jpg

 

Arganil - Arganil is a delightful town, the county seat, in central Portugal, located in a mountainous region of great beauty, fertile vegetation and water courses.

The region has traces of Roman occupation since ancient times; there remains the permanence of primitive peoples in this region, as the Necropolis of Windmills, the Chalcolithic period, or the Roman Military Camp of Lomba do Canho.

The Heritage Arganil goes hand in hand with the history and beauty of the village, the owner of an enviable Historical Center, highlighting monuments such as the Mother Church, the Church of Mercy Chapel of the Lord of the Agony or the Pelourinho Vila.

About 2 km from the center, lays the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Mount Alto dating from the 16th century, 500 meters high, celebrating in the 15 August a famous pilgrimage that attracts many visitors.

Surrounding the village of Arganil, are small traditional mountain villages that are worth knowing, located on the slopes and valleys of the beautiful hills of the region, as Vila Cova de Alva, Benfeita (integrated in the network "Schist Villages"), Coja, Malhada Chã, Barriosa  or the magnificent Piodão Village, one of the most beautiful in the country.

 

arganil.jpeg

 

Lousa (Schist Villages Network) - Lousã, an idea that stands out immediately is the fact that it might be a mountain sector and of great natural wealth. Protrudes so highlighted the fact that the main physical features of the municipality reflect, in an almost directly, the major structural lines defining, has long been the morphology of its territory, and that influenced the very human occupation in the region over the last centuries.

The Serra da Lousã and the Schist Villages are a rich and varied heritage / built and existing natural.

The Network of Schist Villages comprises 27 villages of 16 municipalities that are located in the center of Portugal, in the territory that lies between Castelo Branco and Coimbra. It is a territory consists mainly of shale mountains, surrounded and crossed by a good road network.

But just say this is too little. The mountains offer stones forming part of the identity of the area. With the stones became its history, but they made a future project. Villages that were in ruin, to disappear, gave an award winning tourist destination. It is something unique and remarkable for having done so in the most disadvantaged areas of the country.

People give us affection. The raw material of good host. Sympathetically. With comfort. Tastefully. With flavors. With a challenge. Discover the Schist Villages is to give and receive a word of meeting its inhabitants. If you give a few more conversation, will receive in exchange a life story.

 

lousa.jpg

 

Tomar - town on the banks of the river Nabão, belonging to the Santarém district in the province of Ribatejo, was conquered from the Moors by D. Afonso Henriques in 1147 after being donated by the King to the Templars in 1159. The March 1, 1160 was established Take on the start of construction of the castle. D Gualdim Pais granted it a charter in 1162.

With the extinction of the Temple in 1312 by order of Pope Clement V, who wanted to see the Templars banned in Europe, was founded the Order of Christ Military. Because of the need to defend the Algarve border, the headquarters of this Order moved to Castro Marim. Thirty-seven years later, he returned to settle in Tomar specifically in his castle.

So take would be the originator center and main supporter of the Discoveries. Prince Henry, appointed by the Pope as Regedor the Order of Christ, was to settle in the Castle of Tomar.

It was elevated to city status in 1844 and was visited by Queen Maria II the following year.

 

Convento de Cristo_tomar.jpg

 

GASTRONOMY

 

Castelo Branco

- Laburdo

- Fry

- Stew kid

- Tripe stuffed

 

Guarda

- Serra cheese

- Grain soup

- Black pudding

- Sausages

- Maranhos

- Roast lamb

- Serrabulho fashion Border

- Ranch Seia

- Tijelada (sweet)

 

Viseu

- Kid's Grelheira

- Beira Alta Mace

- Veal Lafões

- Rancho de Viseu

 

WINES

 

Wine Region of Beira Interior

It is the most mountainous region of mainland Portugal, comprising some of the highest mountains of Portugal.

The climate suffers from an extreme continental influence, with major temperature variations, short, hot, dry summers, and long and very cold winters.

The soils are mostly granite, with small patches of shale and although unusual, sandy spots.

The Beira Interior is divided into three sub-regions, Castelo Rodrigo, Pinhel and Cova da Beira. Castelo Rodrigo and Pinhel, despite being separated by mountain ranges, share similar features.

In turn, the Cova da Beira presents different, extending from the foothills of the Serra da Estrela to the Tagus valley, south of Castelo Branco

The predominant white varieties are Arinto, Source Cal, Malvasia Fina, Tail Sheep and Syria, while in red prevail Bastard, Marufo, Rufete, Tinta Roriz and Touriga Nacional, with regular presence of very old vines.

 

vinhos_beira_inter.jpg

 

Wine Region Dão and Lafões

Surrounded by mountains in all directions, based on very poor granitic soils, the region Dão extends its vineyards scattered among pine forests at different altitudes, from the 1000 meters of Serra da Estrela up to 200 meters from low areas.

The vineyards are scattered and discontinuous, divided into multiple installments, with properties averaging areas almost negligible.

The mountains determine and shape the climate of the region containing the vineyards of the direct influence of the continental climate and the maritime influence. Poor soils are mostly granite.

In the white varieties protrude beyond the Encruzado, the Bical varieties, Cercial, Malvasia Fina, Tail Sheep and Verdelho. In the red varieties, apart from Touriga Nacional, we point out the Alfrocheiro, Jaen and Tinta Roriz, beyond undervalued Berry, Bastard and Ink apple.

Lafões is a small transition region, nestled between the names of Dão and Vinho Verde, cut by the river Vouga, with mostly granitic soils.

In the white varieties thrive Arinto, Cerceal, Dona Branca, Distemper Dog and Tail Sheep, with the reds dominated by caste Amaral and Jaen. As a rule, Lafões wines show a penchant acidic, with a style similar to the neighboring name Vinho Verde

vinhos dao_lafoes.jpg

 

more information: turiventos@sapo.pt

 

Post by: Turiventos

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 17:32

circuito cenro interior.jpg

Circuito centro pontos.jpg

 

Circuito: Centro – Interior histórico - Portugal

 

Distancia – 1.000 kms.  Dificuldade – Média. Circuito – Urbano/Serra Duração8 dias

 

Castelo de Almourol - O castelo de Almourol, está situado numa pequena ilha que já era habitada no tempo da ocupação romana da península, a partir do século VIII, foi ocupada pelos muçulmanos, que a terão conquistado aos visigodos.  No âmbito da reconquista cristã da Península Ibérica, Almourol foi conquistada por D. Afonso Henriques, em 1129, que o entregou à Ordem do Templo.

Castelo Almoural

 Castelo de Almoural

 

Castelo Branco - Situada na Beira Baixa, a cidade de Castelo Branco é sede de distrito e de um dos maiores concelhos do País, no centro de uma vasta região planáltica, entre as bacias dos rios Pônsul e O

cresa. 
Castelo Branco deve o seu nome à existência de um castro luso-romano, Castra Leuca, no cimo da Colina da Cardosa, de onde se desenrolou o povoamento desta localidade, então apelidada Albi Castrum. 
A cidade foi conquistada aos Mouros no século XII, e posteriormente alguns domínios foram ofertados à Ordem do Templo, encarregando-os do seu povoamento e defesa, para o que construíram o Castelo da localidade.

Cast._Branco_-_Jardim_do_Paço_Episcopal.jpg

 Jardim Paço Episcopal - Castelo Branco

 

Monsanto (Aldeia Histórica) – Monsanto (Aldeia mais portuguesa de Portugal) situa-se a nordeste das Terras de Idanha, aninhada na encosta de uma elevação escarpada - o cabeço de Monsanto (Mons Sanctus) - que irrompe abruptamente na campina e que, no seu ponto mais elevado, atinge 758 metros. Pelas várias vertentes da encosta e no sopé do monte, existem lugarejos dispersos, atestando a deslocação populacional em direção à planície.

Trata-se de um local muito antigo, onde se regista a presença humana desde o paleolítico. Vestígios arqueológicos dão conta de um castro lusitano e da ocupação romana no denominado campo de S. Lourenço, no sopé do monte. Vestígios da permanência visigótica e árabe foram também encontrados.

Covilhã – A cidade da Covilhã está situada na vertente sudeste da Serra da Estrela e é um dos centros urbanos de maior relevo da região.

O ponto mais alto de Portugal Continental, a Torre (1 993 m), pertence às freguesias de Unhais da Serra (Covilhã), São Pedro (Manteigas), Loriga (Seia) e Alvoco da Serra (Seia), estando incluída em três municípios: Covilhã, Manteigas e Seia, mas dista cerca de 20 km do núcleo urbano da Covilhã, sendo a Covilhã, por isso, a cidade portuguesa mais próxima do ponto mais alto de Portugal Continental.

 

covilhã.jpg

Cidade da Covilha

 

Belmonte (Aldeia Histórica) – A história de Belmonte surge, normalmente, associada à história dos Cabrais e dos Judeus. Foi terra natal de Pedro Álvares Cabral, o navegador, que no ano de 1500 comandou a segunda armada à India, durante a qual se descobriu oficialmente o Brasil.

A presença humana no atual concelho de Belmonte está comprovada desde as épocas mais remotas. A Anta de Caria, os Castros de Caria e da Chandeirinha certificam a longevidade da fixação na pré e proto-história. A presença romana é também evidente pelos testemunhos da Torre Centum Cellas ou pela Villa da Quinta da Fórnea, pontos de passagem da via que ligava Mérida à Guarda.

 

belmonte.jpeg

Belmonte 

 

Guarda – Nos primeiros séculos da romanização da Península Ibérica habitavam a região da Guarda povos lusitanos. Entre os quais os Igaeditani, os Lancienses Oppidani e os Transcudani. Estes povos unidos sob uma autentica federação viriam a resistir à romanização durante dois séculos. Ao contrário dos latinizados estes povos não consumiam vinho, mas antes cerveja de bolota. A sua arma de eleição era a falcata- uma espada curva - que facilmente quebrava os gládios romanos devido à sua superioridade metalúrgica. Os seus deuses pagãos diferiam também dos romanos, podem ainda hoje encontrar-se algumas inscrições religiosas lusitanas em santuários como o Cabeço das Fráguas.

A explicação mais conhecida e consensual do significado do epíteto de «cidade dos 5 F's» diz que estes significam Forte, Farta,  Fria,  Fiel e Formosa. A explicação destes efes tão adaptada posteriormente a outras cidades é simples:

Forte: a torre do castelo, as muralhas e a posição geográfica demonstram a sua força; Farta: devido à riqueza do vale do Mondego; Fria: a proximidade à Serra da Estrela e o facto de estar situada a uma grande altitude explicam este F; Fiel: porque Álvaro Gil Cabral – que foi Alcaide-Mor do Castelo da Guarda e trisavô de Pedro Álvares Cabral – recusou entregar as chaves da cidade ao Rei de Castela durante a crise de 1383-85. Teve ainda Fôlego para combater na batalha de Aljubarrota e tomar assento nas Cortes de 1385 onde elegeu o Mestre de Avis (D. João I) como Rei; Formosa: pela sua natural beleza.

 

guarda.jpg1

 Sé Guarda

 

Almeida (Aldeia Histórica) – Também conhecida por “Estrela de Pedra”, Almeida localiza-se no distrito da Guarda, região da Beira Interior, mais concretamente num território designado Terras de Riba-Côa. O seu carácter fronteiriço é bastante notório, uma vez que toda a sua confrontação a leste é com Espanha, constituindo parte da fronteira Portugal -Espanha, mais conhecida por Raia, sendo por isso esta zona também chamada "região arraiana".

Recebeu foral de D. Dinis em 1296.

A toponímia tem tradução literal do árabe: «Terra Plana», o que faz perfeito sentido visto que o território do concelho é em grande parte zona planáltica. Atravessando o concelho de sul para norte, e sendo um dos poucos rios portugueses que corre neste sentido, o rio Côa abre um abrupto vale nessa meseta, dividindo o município em duas partes bem vincadas.

 

almeida-estrela.gif

Almeida

 

Castelo Rodrigo (Aldeia Histórica) – Conhecida por “Fortaleza dos Torreões”, o território de Riba-Côa foi ocupado desde tempos remotos, havendo vestígios paleolíticos, megalíticos, da cultura castreja, romanos e árabes. A preocupação com a reorganização e povoamento desta área na época da Reconquista é patente nas doações aos freires Salamantinos, fundadores da Ordem de S. Julião do Pereiro, e aos primeiros frades de Santa Maria de Aguiar, oriundos de Zamora, de que o Mosteiro de Santa Maria de Aguiar, de fundação cisterciense do séc. XII, é importante testemunho.

Conquistada aos Árabes no séc. XI e dependente do Reino de Leão, foi vila elevada a concelho por Afonso IX, integrando definitivamente o território português a 12 de Setembro de 1297, pelo Tratado de Alcanizes - assinado por D. Dinis, que confirmou o seu Foral em Trancoso e mandou repovoar e reconstruir o Castelo, ação repetida por D. Fernando I, que também lhe concedeu Carta de Feira, em 1373.

Castelo Rodrigo está rodeado por uma cintura amuralhada inicialmente composta por 13 torreões (à semelhança de Ávila). Mantém a sua traça medieval, que irradia da alcáçova e acompanha a topografia. Pelas suas ruas encontram-se casas interessantes, umas manuelinas, outras construções árabes.
Estando na rota de peregrinos a Compostela, aqui se ergueu a Igreja de N. Sra. de Rocamador, fundada por uma confraria de frades hospitaleiros vindos de França no séc. XIII.

 

castelorodrigo.jpg

 Panoramica de Castelo Rodrigo

 

Trancoso (Aldeia Histórica) – Localizado no topo de um planalto, de onde se avista um vasto território entre a serra da Estrela e o vale do Douro, Trancoso desenvolveu-se em torno do seu castelo, fundado nos sécs. VIII-IX. 
Ao longo de toda a Idade Média, foi um lugar estratégico-militar extremamente importante, instalado numa região de fronteira instável, onde ocorreram vários conflitos e batalhas, primeiro entre cristãos e muçulmanos e, mais tarde, entre Portugal e os reinos vizinhos.

Com Foral outorgado por D. Afonso Henriques (1162-65), nos primórdios da nacionalidade, Trancoso era já uma das principais povoações da região. Seria, também, um relevante centro mercantil, onde a partir de D. Afonso III (1273) se passou a realizar uma das mais antigas e concorridas feiras francas do reino, perpetuada nos nossos dias pela afamada Feira de S. Bartolomeu

A origem do nome "Trancoso" motiva hoje em dia a especulação e a imaginação. Existem pelo menos duas explicações, ambas de pendor mitológico. Tais explicações, contudo, poderão não ser tão fantasiosas como à partida seríamos levados a pensar. Uma destas explicações refere que o nome deriva de "troncoso", ou seja, o nome ficaria a dever-se ao facto de existirem árvores de grande porte na região em que a cidade foi fundada. O segundo, que foi considerado por Charles Joly (1818-1902), em 1893, uma das maiores árvores da Europa, já não existe, mas ainda hoje é possível observar árvores impressionantes como a "Tília Grande de Trancoso". Outra explicação, que específica concretamente um ato de fundação, um pouco à semelhança de Roma (cf. Fundação de Roma), refere que a cidade terá sido fundada por um emissário vindo do Egipto ou da Etiópia. O nome do emissário seria Awseya Tarakos, que mais tarde viria a ser rei da Etiópia, da dinastia salomónica. Existem, também, outras cidades europeias cujos nomes têm algumas semelhanças com Trancoso, podendo haver alguma relação entre eles (TarragonaTarascon, etc.). Em Portugal, atualmente, é possível encontrar a designação Trancoso para outras localidades e lugares. Existe, ainda, um rio no norte de Portugal, afluente do rio Minho, que tem esse nome.

 

trancoso.jpg

Trancoso

 

Viseu – As origens da cidade de Viseu remontam à época castreja e, com a Romanização, ganhou grande importância, quiçá devido ao entroncamento de estradas romanas de cuja prova restam apenas os miliários. Estes miliários alinham-se num eixo que parece corresponder à estrada de Mérida (Espanha), que se intersectaria com a ligação Olissipo-Cale-Bracara, outros dois pólos bastante influentes. Talvez por esse motivo se possa justificar a edificação da estrutura defensiva octogonal, de dois quilómetros de perímetro — a Cava de Viriato.

Viseu está associada à figura de Viriato, já que se pensa que este herói lusitano tenha talvez nascido nesta região. Depois da ocupação romana na península, seguiu-se a elevação da cidade a sede de diocese, já em domínio visigótico, no século VI.

Mesmo antes da formação do Condado Portucalense, Viseu foi várias vezes residência dos condes D. Teresa e D. Henrique que, em 1123 lhe concedem um foral. Seu filho D. Afonso Henriques terá nascido em Viseu a 5 de Agosto de1109, segundo tese do historiador Almeida Fernandes. O segundo foral foi-lhe concedido pelo filho dos condes,  D. Afonso Henriques, em 1187, e confirmado por D. Afonso II, em 1217.

 

viseu_viseu.jpg

Monumento a Viriato - Viseu

 

Seia – Situada na vertente ocidental da serra da Estrela, a cidade de Seia fica a 550 m de altitude. O clima do concelho é temperado, com temperaturas moderadas no Verão e frio no Inverno, com temperaturas muito baixas e ocorrências de neve, por vezes abundantes, nas partes mais elevadas da Serra da Estrela. Quanto ao regime de precipitações, há uma pequena estação seca, que compreende os meses de Verão de Julho e Agosto.

A primitiva ocupação humana do local da actual Seia remonta à época pré-romana, quando da fundação de uma povoação pelos Túrdulos, por volta do século IV a.C., denominada como Senna. Os Túrdulos edificaram um castro no lugar de Nogueira, entre os montes de Santana e de Carvalha do Outeiro. Defendiam-no estrategicamente três castros, mais pequenos, um em S. Romão, outro em Crestelo e o terceiro na actual Seia. Existem ainda restos de castros em Travancinha, Loriga e S. Romão.

Quando a se verificou a Invasão romana da Península Ibérica, os Lusitanos fizeram da serra, então chamada Montes Hermínios, o seu quartel-general, que se tornou um forte obstáculo para os invasores. Isto não impediu, no entanto, que o general Galba massacrasse 30.000 montanheses lusitanos.

 

seia.jpg

 Seia

 

Piódão (Aldeia Histórica) – O Piódão “Presépio do Açor”, aldeia classificada como "Imóvel de Interesse Público", localiza-se na Serra do Açôr, com uma implantação de escarpa abrupta e uma estrutura de malha cerrada e traçado sinuoso, bem adaptada à rugosidade do espaço envolvente. As pastagens da Serra de S. Pedro do Açor, recheada de nascentes, atraíram os pastores lusitanos que ali alimentaram os seus rebanhos. Na época medieval, formou-se um pequeno povoado a que foi dado o nome de Casas Piódam, depois transferido para a atual localização, talvez devido à instalação de um Mosteiro de Cister (de que já não restam vestígios) o que fará remontar o lugar ao séc. XIII. A este mosteiro poderá estar ligada a antiga invocação de Santa Maria (comum nas Abadias Cistercienses) da Igreja Matriz templo reformulado no séc. XVIII/XIX, o que o dotou duma curiosa fachada pautada por finas torres cilíndricas rematadas por cones.

 

piodao-portuguese-historic.jpg

 Panoramica de Piódao

 

Arganil – Arganil é uma lindíssima vila, sede de concelho, do Centro de Portugal, situada numa região serrana de grande beleza, de fértil vegetação e abundantes cursos de água.

A região apresenta vestígios de ocupação romana desde tempos bem remotos, existindo vestígios da permanência dos povos primitivos nesta região, como a Necrópole dos Moinhos de Vento, do período Calcolítico, ou o Acampamento Militar Romano da Lomba do Canho.

O Património de Arganil caminha de mãos dadas com a história e beleza da vila, dona de um invejável Centro Histórico, destacando-se monumentos como a Capela de São Pedro, a Igreja da Misericórdia, a Capela do Senhor da Agonia, ou o Pelourinho da Vila.

A cerca de 2 km do centro, situa-se o Santuário de Nossa Senhora do Monte Alto datado do século XVI,  a 500 metros de altitude, celebrando-se no dia 15 de Agosto uma célebre Romaria que atrai inúmeros visitantes.

Circundando a vila de Arganil, encontram-se pequenas aldeias serranas tradicionais que vale a pena conhecer, situadas nas encostas e vales das bonitas serranias da região, como Vila Cova de Alva, Benfeita (integrada na rede “Aldeias de Xisto”), Coja, Malhada Chã, Barriosa ou a magnífica Aldeia de Piódão, uma das mais bonitas do País.

arganil.jpeg

 Vista de Arganil


Lousã (Rede de Aldeias de Xisto) –  Município da Lousã, uma ideia que ressalta de imediato, é o facto de se estar perante um sector de montanha e de grande riqueza natural. Sai assim realçado o facto de os principais traços físicos do Município reflectirem, de uma forma quase directa, as grandes linhas estruturais que definem, desde há muito, a morfologia do seu território, e que influenciaram a própria ocupação humana na região, ao longo dos últimos séculos.

A Serra da Lousã e as Aldeias de Xisto, são um rico e variado património histórico/edificado e natural existente.

A Rede das Aldeias do Xisto integra 27 aldeias de 16 concelhos que se situam no centro de Portugal, no território que se situa entre Castelo Branco e Coimbra. É um território essencialmente constituído por montanhas de xisto, circundado e atravessado por uma boa rede rodoviária.

Mas dizer só isto é muito pouco. As montanhas oferecem pedras que fazem parte da identidade do território. Com as pedras se fez a sua história, mas com elas se fez um projeto de futuro. Aldeias que estavam em ruína, a desaparecer, originaram um destino turístico premiado. É algo único e notável, por ter surgido num dos territórios mais desfavorecidos do interior do país.

As pessoas dão-nos afetos. A matéria prima do bom acolhimento. Com simpatia. Com conforto. Com bom gosto. Com sabores. Com um desafio. Descobrir as Aldeias do Xisto é dar e receber uma palavra de cumprimento dos seus habitantes. Se der mais umas quantas de conversa, receberá em troca uma história de vida.

 

lousa.jpg

 Lousa

 

Tomar –  Cidade localizada nas margens do rio Nabão, pertencente ao distrito de Santarém na província do Ribatejo, foi conquistada ao Mouros por D. Afonso Henriques em 1147 sendo depois doada por este monarca aos Templários em 1159. A 1 de março de 1160 foi fundada Tomar com o início da construção do castelo. D Gualdim Pais concedeu-lhe foral em 1162.

Com a extinção da Ordem do Templo em 1312 por decisão do Papa Clemente V, que queria ver os templários banidos da Europa, foi fundada a Ordem de Militar de Cristo. Devido à necessidade de defender a fronteira algarvia, a sede desta Ordem transferiu-se para Castro Marim. Trinta e sete anos depois, voltou a fixar-se em Tomar mais concretamente no seu castelo.

Assim Tomar viria a ser o centro originador e principal sustentador da epopeia dos Descobrimentos. O Infante D. Henrique, nomeado pelo Papa como Regedor da Ordem de Cristo, viria a instalar-se no castelo de Tomar.

Foi elevada à categoria de cidade em 1844, tendo sido visitada pela Rainha D. Maria II no ano seguinte.

 

Convento de Cristo_tomar.jpg

Convento de Cristo - Tomar

 

GASTRONOMIA

 

Castelo Branco

- Laburdo

- Fritada

- Ensopado cabrito

- Bucho recheado

 

Guarda

- Queijo da Serra

- Sopa de grão

- Morcelas

- Enchidos

- Maranhos

- Borrego assado

- Serrabulho a moda da Beira

- Rancho de Seia

- Tijelada (doce)

 

Viseu

- Cabrito da Grelheira

- Maça da Beira Alta

- Vitela de Lafões

- Rancho de Viseu

 

VINHOS

 

Região Vinícola da Beira Interior

É a região mais montanhosa de Portugal continental, compreendendo algumas das serras mais altas de Portugal.

O clima sofre de uma influência continental extremada, com importantes variações de temperatura, verões curtos, quentes e secos, e Invernos prolongados e muito frios.

Os solos são maioritariamente graníticos, com pequenas manchas de xisto e, embora pouco comuns, manchas arenosas.

A Beira Interior encontra-se dividida em três sub-regiões, Castelo Rodrigo, Pinhel e Cova da Beira. Castelo Rodrigo e Pinhel, apesar de se encontrarem separadas por cadeias montanhosas, partilham características semelhantes.

Por sua vez a Cova da Beira apresenta-se diferente, estendendo-se desde os contrafortes da Serra da Estrela até ao vale do Tejo, a Sul de Castelo Branco.

As castas brancas predominantes são o Arinto, Fonte Cal, Malvasia Fina, Rabo de Ovelha e Síria, enquanto nos tintos prevalecem o Bastardo, Marufo, Rufete, Tinta Roriz e Touriga Nacional, com presença regular de vinhas muito velhas.

 

vinhos_beira_inter.jpg

 

Região Vinícola Dão e Lafões

Rodeada por montanhas em todas as direcções, assente em solos graníticos muito pobres, a região do Dão estende as suas vinhas dispersas entre pinhais a diferentes altitudes, desde os 1.000 metros da Serra da Estrela até aos 200 metros das zonas mais baixas.

As vinhas são esparsas e descontínuas, divididas em múltiplas parcelas, com propriedades com áreas médias quase insignificantes.

As montanhas determinam e condicionam o clima da região, abrigando as vinhas da influência directa do clima continental e da influência marítima. Os solos pobres são maioritariamente graníticos.

Nas castas brancas salientam-se, para além do Encruzado, as variedades Bical, Cercial, Malvasia Fina, Rabo de Ovelha e Verdelho. Nas castas tintas, para além da Touriga Nacional, salientam-se o Alfrocheiro, Jaen e Tinta Roriz, para além das pouco valorizadas Baga, Bastardo e Tinta Pinheira.

Lafões é uma pequena região de transição, encravada entre as denominações do Dão e Vinho Verde, cortada pelo rio Vouga, com solos maioritariamente graníticos.

Nas castas brancas prosperam o Arinto, Cerceal, Dona Branca, Esgana Cão e Rabo de Ovelha, sendo os tintos dominados pelas castas Amaral e Jaen. Por regra, os vinhos de Lafões mostram um pendor acídulo, apresentando um estilo semelhante ao da denominação vizinha do Vinho Verde

 

vinhos dao_lafoes.jpg

 

 Mais infortmaçoes: turiventos@sapo.pt

 

Post by: Turiventos

 

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 18:05

FR - Carte Gastronomique du Portugal

por Turiventos, em 18.02.15

mapa gastronomia.jpg

Les plats typiques de régions du Portugal

 

Nord

 

Braga

- Papas de serrabulho

- Bacalhau a Braga

- Pudim de Abade de Priscos

 

Bragança

- Cabrito no forno

- Caldeirada de Cabrito

- Alheiras

- Carne Mirandesa

 

Chaves

- Presunto

- Alheiras

- Cabrito assado

-Cozido transmontano

- Folar

 

Guimarães

- Broa de Milho

- Toucinho do Céu (doce)

- Galo de cabidela

- Bacalhau com broa

 

Porto

- Bacalhau a Gomes Sá

- Bacalhau a Zé do Pipo

- Caldo Verde

- Feijoada a moda do Porto

- Francesinha

- Papo de Anjo (doce)

- Rojões

- Polvo assado

 

Viana do Castelo

- Marisco

- Rojões a moda do Minho

- Doce Santa Luzia

- Arroz de Polvo

- Bacalhau

 

Vila Real

- Feijoada Transmontana

- Cabrito assado com arroz no forno

- Enchidos

 

Centre

 

Aveiro

- Lampreia

- Caldeirada de Enguias

- Pão de Ló – Alfeizerão

- Ovos Moles

- Leitão

 

Castelo Branco

- Laburdo

- Fritada

- Ensopado cabrito

- Bucho recheado

 

Coimbra

- Lampreia

- Barrigas de Freira

- Pastéis de Tentugal

- Chanfana

- Leitão assado (Mealhada – Bairrada – Negrais)

 

Guarda

- Queijo da Serra

- Sopa de grão

- Morcelas

- Enchidos

- Maranhos

- Borrego assado

- Serrabulho a moda da Beira

- Rancho de Seia

- Tijelada (doce)

 

Peniche

- Caldeirada

- Arroz Marisco

- Salada Polvo

- Peixe grelhado

 

Viseu

- Cabrito da Grelheira

- Maça da Beira Alta

- Vitela de Lafões

- Rancho de Viseu

 

 

Lisbonne et Vallée du Tage

 

Lisbonne

- Caldo Verde

- Sardinhas assadas

- Pasteis de bacalhau

- Pataniscas de bacalhau

- Cozido a Portuguesa

- Arroz doce

- Pastéis de Belém.

 

Setúbal

- Choco frito

- Marisco

- Queijos de Azeitão

- Tortas de Azeitao

- Caldeirada a Pescador (Sesimbra)

- Sardinhas

- Enguias fritas (Lançada)

 

Alentejo

 

Alcácer do Sal

- Pinhoada (doce)

- Ensopado de enguias

- Coelho frito

- Achega grelhado

 

Arraiolos

- Migas de espargos

- Migas de bacalhau

- Pasteis de toucinho de Arraiolos (doce)

- Ensopado de borrego

 

Beja

- Sopa de tomate

- Sopa de baldroega com queijo

- Cozido de grão

- Pão de Rala (doce)

- Figado de coentrada

Estremoz

- Sopa de hortelã

- Poejada de bacalhau

- Pezinhos de coentrada

- Burras assadas

- Cachola

- Encharcada (doce)

 

Évora

- Migas

- Sopa de toucinho

- Açorda alentejana

- Ensopado de borrego

- Cabeça de Xara

- Perdiz À Montemor

- Encharcada (doce)

- Trouchas de ovos (doce)

- Queijadas de Évora

 

Ferreira do Alentejo

- Açorda de alho

- Sopa de cação

- Feijao branco com carrasquilhos

- Ferreirenses (doce)

 

Grândola

- Perdiz com feijão raiano

- Sopa de Peixe

- Pitéu de enguia

- Moreira dos almocraves

 

Moura

- Gaspacho

- Carne porco alentejana

- Entrecosto

- Açorda de bacalhau

- Orelha porco de coentrada

- Manjar (doce)

 

Reguengos

- Sopa da panela

- Secretos porco preto

- Sericaia (doce)

 

Serpa

- Sopa Lavadas

- Migas

- Borrego a pastora

- Surra Burra

- Queijo Serpa

- Enchidos porco preto

- Tosquianos (doce)

 

Vila Viçosa

- Sopa de cação

- Cozido À alentejana

- Favada

- Tibornas (doce)

- Filhós (doce)

 

Algarve

 

- Caracóis À algarvia

- Caldeirada algarvia

- Feijoada de marisco

- Cataplana de marisco

- Ostras algarvias

- Arroz de berbigão

- Choquinhos a algarvia

- Carapaus alimados

- Feijoada de búzios

- Bife de Atum

- Arroz de lingueirão

- Lapas

 

Madeira

 

- Bolo do caco

- Espetadas madeirenses com milho frito

- Lapas grelhadas

- Bolo de mel

- Peixe Espada preto

- Bife de Atium

- Filete de espada

 

Açores

 

- Sopa Azeda

- Cozido das Furnas

- Queijos

- Alcatra

- Mariscos

- Caldeirada

- Sarapatel

- Torresmos

- Camafeu (doce)

 

Posté par: Turiventos

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 22:28

EN - The History of Fado (With Mariza)

por Turiventos, em 19.01.15

 

 

 

 Post by:

Turiventos

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 22:25

Cultural heritage - historical - architecture - religious.Gastronomy - Wine and Olive Oil .

Duration – 1 week 

Circuito do Alentejo capa eng.jpg

Follow the links to read:

Alentejo 2 - Alcacer do Sal

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-2-alcacer-4689

Alentejo 3 - Grandola

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-3-grandola-4989

Alentejo 4 - Ferreira do Alentejo

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-4-ferreira-1757

Alentejo 5 - Serpa

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-6-serpa-2241

Alentejo 6 - Beja

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-5-beja-2030

Alentejo 7 - Moura

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-7-moura-2501

Alentejo 8/9 - Reguengos Monsaraz - Alqueva

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-89-2572

Alentejo 10 - Vila Viçosa

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-10-vila-6549

Alentejo 11 - Estremoz

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-11-estremoz-3284

Alentejo 12 - Arraiolos

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-12-3387

Alentejo 13/14 - Evora - Escoural

http://turiventos-turismoeventos.blogs.sapo.pt/travel-tips-tour-alentejo-1314-3650

 

Post by:

Turiventos

 

 

 

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 13:50

Ruta: Alfama el origen de la ciudad

trajeto alfama.jpg

Distancia: 6 millas. Dificultad: Medio CircuitoUrbanos Duración (aproximado): - 4 o 5 horas

Lugares para visitar:

Plaza del Palacio: Entorno - estatua de José I - Arco de la calle Augusta - Lisboa Story Center - Buró de Turismo de Lisboa - Beer Museum -Río Tajo.

terreiro paço.jpg

Tranvía 28: Típico eléctrica Alfama alza

 

eletrico 28.jpg

 

Mirador de Nuestra Señora del Monte: Ver la ciudad de Lisboa, cerca del castillo, Martim Moniz, Rossio, Bairro Alto, Río Tajo, Puente 25 de abril de Almada.

 

miradouro sra monte.jpg

 

Portas do Sol Punto de vista: Vista al este de la ciudad, el Panteón Nacional, Iglesia de S. Vicente  Fora, Valla Nova (muralla de la ciudad), Estatua de San Vicente  (patrona de la ciudad).

 

miradouro portas sol.jpg

 

Castelo S. Jorge: (Entrada livre) - Visita ao interior do Castelo é paga

castelo s jorge.jpg

 

Sta Luzia punto de vista :. Vista del río Tajo y Alfama

 

miradouro sta luzia.jpg

 

Teatro Romano: Rastros de un teatro romano

 

teatro romano.jpg

 

Iglesia de San Antonio: El santo patrón de las bodas de Lisboa
y Anthony Museo

 

igreja sto antonio.jpg

 

Catedral de Lisboa: emblemática iglesia de Lisboa

Sé.jpg

 

Calles de Alfama: Ruta de las calles típicas de casas de fado de Alfama

 

Ruas alfama.jpg

 

Largo do Chafariz de Dentro: ubicación de la entrada de la ciudad en el siglo XII

Museu del Fado: Museo de la historia del fado "Patrimonio Inmaterial de la Humanidad"

 

museu fado.jpg

 

Casa dos Bicos: Funciona Fundación José Saramago

Casa dos icos.jpg

 Publicación por:

António Duro

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 16:16

Cultural heritage - historical - architecture - religious - Gastronomy - Wine and Olive Oil .

Duration – 1 week 

Circuito do Alentejo capa eng.jpg

EVORA

Travel: Arraiolos ȃvora: 23 kms

Travel time (expected): 30 minutes

THE CITY

The city of Évora is the main urban center of the region, population and functional terms. The social and economic dynamics of the city has managed to buck the trend in the region as a whole, maintaining a similar growth to that of other medium-sized Portuguese cities by the year 2001, after reversing this trend, reflecting the influence of some significant migration still sufficient to compensate for the natural balance.

In recent decades the increasing urbanization of the population is presented as a trend globally, with the increase of population transfer of small clusters for large cities and for medium-sized cities. Although Portugal has a much lower rate of urbanization to the rest of the European area and the growth dynamics of urban centers continue to show higher values than the surrounding regions in the last decade, the population of Évora, in the previous decade had seen a increase close to 800 people, recorded a population increase of 77 inhabitants only.

Due to its location, Évora is constituted as space hinge between the Alentejo and Extremadura. In fact, the Sines Port Platform ensures the maritime transport of cargo between southern and northern Europe, as well as road access (by way IC33, IP2 and A6) throughout Europe, through the city-port of Elvas. It is accepted that this dynamic is enhanced in the future through the LTM rail corridor (Goods transport line).

Given its size, centrality and visibility in the national, Évora emerges as the pole with better conditions to lead the hierarchy of the regional urban system. Indeed, the city clearly has equity, cultural, academic vocation, and services, environmental quality, which seeks to boost the entire surrounding area to the city itself. Thus, the appreciation of the medium-sized cities network Alentejo region as well as the urban centers of influence above district council, is the main objective in the search for an integrated urban system. In conjunction with the national urban system, the medium-sized cities in the Alentejo region, with special relevance for Evora should contribute jointly to promote the harmonious development of regional complementary network.

 

Muralhas de Evora (Walls of Évora)

The Walls of Évora (about the medieval), also referred to as New About Évora or Fernandinas Walls of Évora, are located in the St. Anthony parish in the town of Evora, Portugal.

The whole is a National Monument since 1922, and integrates the entire Historic Centre of Évora, inscribed as a World Heritage UNESCO.2

The works of construction of this circuit walls began in the 14th century by order of Afonso IV of Portugal and lasted until the reign of Ferdinand I of Portugal.

Later, in the 17th century were reinforced by the construction of advanced bastions.

The set consists of the towers and wall panels erected in the 14th and 15th centuries to limit the medieval city, the towers of the ramp of the Collegiate, the Baluarte de San Bartolomé, the Public Garden, the Aviz doors, those located nearby the Calvary Convent (between the gates of Raimundo and the Lagoon), and between the stronghold of Count Lippe and the Cavalry Barracks.

These structures are characterized by different architectural styles, from Gothic and Manueline windows of the north and west elevations, the bastion style type of Aviz Port Vauban and other sections of seventeenth-century wall, to the revivalist style Raimundo port or a distortion of Port Lagoon, due to the numerous reedificações and renovations over the centuries.

 

muralha evora.jpg

 

Convento Santa Clara (Convent of Santa Clara)

The Convent of Santa Clara is located between the Serpa Pinto Street and Santa Clara, St. Anthony parish, in Évora.

This ancient religious house of Poor Clare nuns was founded in the 16th century by the then Bishop of Évora, D. Vasco Perdigao, with some features that individualized, at the time, the various Alentejo religious houses, such as the picturesque laced windows of the towers / lookouts. The church today has a baroque appearance (gilt and 18th century tiles) and beautiful murals at the top of the ship and the two choirs. The cloister and other convent buildings, such as the dining room and the room of the Chapter, remain more or less intact.

Due to the extinction of the Religious Orders, the convent closed on May 9, 1903, with the death of the last nun, Maria does Carmo Ludovina. Then entered in state ownership, which it installed a Barracks Infantry from 1911 to 1936. From that date, began serving the Industrial School and then Preparatory, having then been the subject of several restoration campaigns, which have kept the sober convent aspect of this vast building, now harboring the Escola EB 2,3 of Santa Clara.

Currently is installed in the church of Santa Clara the provisional core of the Museum of Évora, due to construction of the building where it is installed.

convento sta clara evora.jpg

 

 

Aqueduto da Água de Prata (The Silver Water Aqueduct)

The Aqueduct of Silver Water, also known as the Aqueduct Water Silver or Silver Aqueduct is a complex work of Renaissance hydraulic engineering in order to supply the city of Évora with water. Opened in 1537, was built during the reign of King John III and designed and built by the royal architect Francisco de Arruda.1 The aqueduct carries water from springs located in Divor of Grace, which "have their first principle in Herdade das Figueiras Wolf, to the city of Évora traveling about 18 Km. it is part of the Historic Centre of Évora included List of UNESCO World Heritage Site and is a National Monument since 1910. the aqueduct is one of the few this season that continues to operate today, contributing to the supply of the city.

History

It was developed in 1531 and was inaugurated on March 28, 1537, has an extension which runs about 18 Km from the Grace of Divor to its final destination, the city of Évora. Ordered the construction by order of King John III, was designed and built by the royal architect Francisco de Arruda. According to measurements made in the early 17th century (1606), the former Raceway sixteenth average 16 646 sticks, which are 8,323 fathoms, the equivalent of 18,310.60 meters.

Background

The development experienced by the city in the late Middle Ages, led to Évora halt great importance in the national urban structure. King John I (1385 - 1433) ranked as the second city of the Kingdom and the King Afonso V (1438 - 1481) chose it to headquarters of its military campaigns. In the 16th century the city acquires an even greater prestige, watching its peak in wealth, political importance, economic and cultural that time. In this century the court went on to stay long periods in Évora from the reign of King Manuel I, resulting in the construction of the Royal Palace, numerous palaces and wealthy houses of nobles, as well as convents, churches, schools and other buildings. It is also this century the foundation of the University of Évora by Cardinal Henry.

In the first decades of the 16th century the supply of drinking water to Évora was clearly insufficient, especially in the summer months. Further aggravated by the lack of water facilitated the appearance of fever with its tragic and deadly consequences. It is important to consider that the city of Évora had suffered in previous decades three plague epidemics with tragic consequences (1495, 1509 and 1523).

Despite the lack consistent scientific evidence, we consider the possibility have been another aqueduct, more or less superimposed on the sixteenth-century aqueduct, during the Roman occupation, when the Evora was called Ebora Liberalitas Iulia.

Building

After waiting for four decades and two vain attempts the work was finally achieved in a short time. In the 30s of the 16th century King John III mobilized important technical, human and financial resources to provide the city with the most extensive and complex project of hydraulic engineering of its time. For the construction of the aqueduct was also told the financial contribution of the nobility of Évora with 691,640 kings (old currency), through tax of the royal household incomes to launch the "great song".

The earliest description of what is known of the aqueduct is the time of the reign of King Philip I of Portugal and part of the Silver Water Aqueduct of Procedure dating from 1606:

"... The first water entering the Real pipe is in the mines where it has its principle, which is the ground of Rui Lopes Lobo, besides the Church of Our Lady of Grace Divor [...] these mines have two pipes separated into two very well-made arms [...] has three feet wide and six high, with its stone walls and lime, covered over large well-hewn stone [...] and as the water there is going to level, will the pipes in high land beneath it, sometimes 25 feet, and parts in 30 feet [...] these pipes [...] the right steps have luminarias to give clarity to those who visit the inside, taking away the stones the cover ... "

aqueduto agua prata.jpg

 

Sé de Évora (See / Evora Cathedral)

The Cathedral Basilica of Our Lady of the Assumption, better known as Cathedral of Évora, or simply Cathedral of Évora, although begun in 1186 and consecrated in 1204, this granite cathedral was completed only in 1250. It is a monument marked by the transition style Romanesque to the Gothic, marked by three majestic ships. In the 15th and 16th centuries, the cathedral received major improvements, dating from that time the high choir, the pulpit, the baptistery and the arch of the chapel of Our Lady of Mercy, also known as Chapel of the Spur, rare copy of plateresca hybrid architecture, dated 1529. from baroque altarpieces dating some golden details and other specific improvements in luxuries decorations. Even in the 18th century the cathedral was enriched with the construction of the new chapel, sponsored by King João V, where the exuberance of marbles was wisely combined with the austerity of the Romanesque-Gothic temple. In 1930, by request of the Archbishop of Évora, Pope Pius XI gave the Cathedral the title of Minor Basilica. In the following decades were carried out some restoration work, such as the demolition of Fitted vestiarias, 18th century, (which allowed to uncover the outer face and the cloister rosettes) and the apeamento some baroque altarpieces that misrepresent the medieval environment the aisles.

The facade of the cathedral is flanked by two towers, both the medieval period, and the tower on the south side of the cathedral bell tower, whose bells for centuries mark the passing hours of the city. Flanking the portal there are superb sculptures of Apostles 14th century Architectural stretch more emblematic of the exterior is the dome, cruise-lantern tower of the ships built in the reign of King Dinis, who is the former's landmark cathedral and one of the Popular parts of the city. In addition to the main entrance there are two more entries: the Puerta del Sol, facing south, with Gothic arches and the North Gate, rebuilt in the Baroque period.

The cathedral interior is distributed in large three ships (it is the largest Portuguese cathedral). In the central nave (the highest), is the Our Lady of Angel altar (also called the city Lady of O) in baroque carvings, with the Gothic images of the Virgin, in polychrome marble and the Angel Gabriel. Still, the central one may wonder if the pulpit (marble) and the magnificent pipe organ (both from the Renaissance period). In the transept opens up the ancient chapels of St. Lawrence and the Holy Christ (which communicates with the House of the Chapter) and the Chapels of the Relics and the Blessed Sacrament, both decorated with opulent gilded ornaments. In the left nave, near the entrance, opens the baptistery, enclosed by beautiful iron railings from the Renaissance period. In the north transept top is the beautiful Renaissance portal (attributed to Nicholas Chanterene) of the Chapel of Squires of the Spur (which it had grave).

Sé_Évora.JPG

 

Capela Mor (Presbytery)

The altar and chancel 18 century marble are JF Ludwig, best known for Ludwig, the architect of the Convent of Mafra. The building of this work was due to the need for space for the canons since the 18th century splendor of liturgical ceremonies required a greater number of clerics. Thus, the early Gothic chapel sacrificed himself (whose altarpiece painting can admire today in the Regional Museum of Évora). It combine white, green and pink marble (from Estremoz, Sintra and Carrara (Italy). One may also admire a beautiful Crucifix of Manuel Dias authored, called the Father of Christ, which on top painting of Our Lady of the Assumption (patron saint of the Cathedral), made in Rome by Agostino Masucci, as well as allegorical statues, busts of St. Peter and St. Paul and of an authorship of the pipe organ of the Italian master Pascoal Caetano Oldovini.

In the cloisters, of about 1325, there are statues of the Evangelists in each corner. The cloister, built by order of Bishop Peter, is a beautiful Gothic example, enriched with rosettes of various decorations. It is further ennobled by the funeral chapel of Bishop Peter (cloister founder), who’s gothic tomb still exists in the center of it. Recently been placed in the south wing of the cloister of the tombs of deceased archbishops of Évora in the 20th century.

The chorus is the result of the work done in the Manueline period. Has a valuable oak stalls, where they are carved mythological scenes, naturalists and rural, dated 1562.

The treasure houses of religious art pieces in the fields of vestments, painting, sculpture and jewelery. The most curious is a Virgin (Our Lady of Paradise) of the thirteenth century, ivory whose body opens to become a triptych with tiny carved scenes: her life in nine episodes. Among other pieces can be still admire the Cross-Reliquary of the Holy Cross (14th century), the Cardinal Henry Crosier (who was Archbishop of Évora and King of Portugal) and gallery of the Archbishops, where are portrayed all the prelates Évora from 1540 to the present. Both the treasure, as the gallery of the Archbishops part of the Museum of Sacred Art of the Cathedral, opened in 1983, during the celebration of the 8th centenary of the Cathedral. The Museum is installed, since May 22, 2009, the former College of Young Men the Cathedral Choir, building adjoining the cathedral, which after renovated, houses the collections of jewelry, vestments, paintings and sculptures, which make up the valuable treasure of the Cathedral.

Several major religious events are associated with this temple. It is said that here were blessed the flags of Vasco da Gama's fleet in 1497. The cruise is the tomb chapel of João Mendes de Vasconcelos, emissary of King Manuel the court of Charles V in Castile in the failed attempt to bring back the Portugal Ferdinand Magellan, who then prepared in Seville the first globe circumnavigation trip.

capela se evora.jpg

 

Igreja de São Francisco / Capela dos Ossos (St. Francis Church / Chapel of Bones)

The Church of San Francisco in Evora is a church of Gothic-Manueline architecture. Built between 1480 and 1510 by the masters of precious stones Martim Lourenço and Pero rail and decorated by the royal painters Francisco Henriques, Jorge Afonso, and Garcia Fernandes, is closely linked to the historical events that marked the maritime expansion period of Portugal. This is obvious in the symbols of the monumental nature of ogival dome: the cross of the Order of Christ and the emblems of the founding kings, John II and Manuel I.

According to tradition, this church was buried Gil Vicente in 1536.

According to tradition, the Convent of St. Francis of Évora have been the first home of the Franciscan Order in Portugal, having been founded in the 12th century According to the canons of the Rule of St. Francis, the early monastic church had three naves, with connecting chapels between itself. In this original building took place several important ceremonies such as marriage of D. Pedro I with D. Manuel Constance. This period left some traces, as evidenced by the trilobadas cracks that flank the main entrance. The church was remodeled in the late 15th century, having built the magnificent temple that exists today and that is one of the most impressive Portuguese churches. Respecting the original boundaries, the three ships were replaced by a single nave remaining, covered by bold Gothic-Manueline vault that reaches twenty-four meters high. The Convent of San Francisco then lived its golden moments, when the court of King Afonso V began to install the convent space during their stay in Evora. Thus, the church of San Francisco was elevated to the rank of Royal Chapel, hence the multiple royal emblems of John II and Manuel I. At that time, the monastery received the Golden Convent of title, such wealth that the Royal Family the decorated.

The splendor of these years (that somehow contradicted the Franciscan spirituality (of poverty and simplicity), was followed by a less glorious period, marked by the loss of independence (in 1580). In this period was built the curious Bones Chapel for that the community reflect the purpose of the ephemerality of human life. in the 18th century were built several gilded woodwork and marble (most of them subsidized by grantees of their chapels, where they had a private grave). in the 19th century a new crisis befall the Convent: the extinction of the religious orders in 1834. the entire monastic part was nationalized, having it installed the city Court, until about 1895, when, under severe ruin, if demolished virtually everywhere convent (bedrooms, part of the cloister, etc.). He saved up but the magnificent church because in 1840, there to transferred the seat of the parish of St. Peter.

Stand out in all the features of Gothic church-Manueline architecture, particularly the battlements and towers of the facades, the main portico and the magnificent dome of the ship.

 

Nave da igreja (Church nave)

In the vast nave of the church, open-ten side chapels, composed of gilded and polychrome carved (18th century) and stucco (19th century). Some are from the Convento da Graça church, from which they were saved from ruin. In the Baptistery is the font of the old church of St. Peter and a curious representation of Christ's Baptism in the Jordan, cork, from the former convent of Santa Monica.

Capela Mor (Presbytery)

The chancel altarpiece replaced a set of Renaissance painting (currently dispersed by Evora Museums and Ancient Art. The current altarpiece is the second half of the 18th century, marble, a work that contrasts with the manufactory environment of space. It is expose the great images of St. Francis and St. Dominic, as was the custom in the Franciscan churches. in chapel elevations are two beautiful Renaissance marbled windows, where the Royal Family attended the religious services (in the 16th century) and a large body of eighteenth-century tubes (Pascoal Caetano Oldovini). the stalls of the monks is decorated with representations of various Franciscan saints. the side altars still have several paintings from the Renaissance period.

 

Capela da Ordem Terceira (Chapel of the Third Order)

Particularly majestic is the Chapel of the artistic set of the venerable Third Order of St. Francis of Penance (consisting of lay people), it is harmoniously all the splendor of Baroque carving of the Johannine period with the tiles and representative screens Franciscan themes.

 

Capela de São Joãozinho (Chapel of St. Johnny)

Small Renaissance dependence of ribbed vault, once independent of the Franciscan temple, built on the north side of the transept. It was the early headquarters of the Holy House of Mercy of Evora and under its cover is the Annunciation angel sculpture in the 1st century marble.

 

Sala do Capítulo (Chapterhouse)

The destruction of the convent of saved up the old hall of the chapter, which in the nineteenth century was transformed into a chapel of Our Lord of the House of Bones (of great local devotion image representing the suffering of Christ on Calvary the way). The dressing room where the image is exposed is the model of the main chapel of the Cathedral of Évora, having been built by order of JF Ludwig, best known for Ludwig, the architect who designed in the 18th century.

 

A Capela dos Ossos (The Chapel of Bones)

The Chapel of Bones is one of the curiosities of this great monument, one of the symbols of the city of Évora. The chapel was built in the centuries 1 and 17, in place of the original dormitory of the brothers. Its construction started from the initiative of three Franciscan friars who wanted to provide a better reflection on the brevity of human life. The chapel consists of bones from the convent church of graves and other churches and cemeteries of the city. The walls of the chapel and the vaults are covered with thousands of human bones, which illustrate the idea of founding monks, expressed in the phrase on top the chapel porch: We bones that are here, for your hope.

The church is still rich in religious and Renaissance and Baroque painting statuary, as reflected in chapels and other dependencies that survived to this day.

 

Capela_dos_ossos.jpg

 

Templo Romano de Évora / Templo Diana (Roman Temple of Évora / Diana Temple)

The Roman Temple of Évora is located in the town of Evora, Portugal; is part of the historic city center, which was classified as World Heritage by UNESCO. The Roman Temple is a National Monument by IGESPAR. One of the most famous landmarks of the city, and a symbol of Roman presence in Portuguese territory.

Located in the parish of the Cathedral and St. Peter, at Largo Conde Vila Flor, is surrounded by the Cathedral of Évora, the Tribunal of the Inquisition, the Church and Convent Lóios the Évora Public Library and the Museum.

Although the Evora Roman temple is often called the Temple of Diana, it is known that the association with the Roman goddess of the hunt originated from a legend created in the 17th century, in fact, the temple was probably built in honor of the Emperor Augustus who was venerated as a god during and after his reign. The temple was built in the 1st century AD in the main square (forum) of Évora - then called Liberatias Iulia - and changed in centuries 2 and 3. Évora was invaded by Germanic peoples in the 5th century, and it was at this time that the temple was destroyed; today, its ruins are the only traces of the Roman Forum in the city.

The ruins of the temple were incorporated into a tower of Évora Castle during the Middle Ages. The base, columns and architraves continued embedded in the walls of the medieval building, 2 and the temple (turned into tower) was used as a 14th century butcher until 1836. This use of the structure of the temple helped preserve the remains of further destruction . Finally, after 1871, the medieval additions were removed, and the restoration work was coordinated by Italian architect Giuseppe Cinatti.

The original temple was probably similar to the Maison Carrée of Nîmes (France). The Temple of Évora is still with his full base (the podium), made of both regular format of granite blocks as irregular. The format of the base is rectangular and measures 15m x 25m x 3.5m altura.5 The south side of the base used to have a staircase, now in ruins.

The porch of the temple, which no longer exists, was originally a hexastilo. A total of fourteen granite columns still standing on the north side (back) of the base; many of the columns still have their capitals in Corinthian style supporting the architrave. The capitals and bases of the columns are made of white marble Estremoz, while the columns and architrave are made of granite. Recent excavations indicate that the temple was surrounded by a reflecting pool.

templo diana.jpg

 

Igreja da Misericórdia  (Church of Mercy)

The Church of Mercy is an important religious monument in the city of Évora, situated in the Misericordia Square, the Cathedral parish and St. Peter.

The foundation of the Holy House of Mercy Évora dates back to December 7, 1499, having been instituted by the King Manuel I, by his wife Queen Maria and his sister, the widow Queen Leonor. Having had the first seat in the Chapel of St. Johnny (attached to the Convent of San Francisco), came moved to this location in the reign of King John III. The first stone of the church was laid in 1554.

The church, with a single nave and sober proportions, presents a majestic set of baroque art of the 17th and 18th centuries, one of the most beautiful churches in the city of Évora. The side walls are lined with beautiful blue and white tile panels, topped by oil paintings, representing the spiritual Works of Mercy and materials, respectively. The back wall is completely filled with a remarkable altarpiece of gilt, surmounted by the representation, the oil, the Virgin of Mercy. The throne of solemn exposition of the Holy Book, on Holy Thursday, is hidden for the rest of the year by another screen, representing the Visitation of Our Lady to her cousin Elizabeth. On the right, the body of the church, gets up the gallery with the seats where they take place the Poll workers of the Brotherhood during solemn ceremonies.

 

Igreja-da-Misericordia-evora.jpg

 

Villa Romana de Nossa Senhora da Tourega  (Villa Romana of Our Lady of Tourega)

The Roman Villa Tourega Our Lady is a Roman villa, classified as a site of public interest since 2012.1 located in the Parishes Union of Our Lady of Tourega and Our Lady of Guadalupe (old parish of Our Lady of Tourega) in the county and district of Évora.

Was situated in a privileged territory of Ebora Liberalitas Julia (now Évora), next to the Roman road bound for Salacia (now Alcacer do Sal) and distally from just five kilometers from the Roman road to Pax Julia.

Was heritage of people of ruling class linked to the exploitation of the land between the 1st century and 4. Roughly speaking, the village was an estate of the period of Roman occupation of the Iberian peninsula, similar to current Alentejo hills, consisting of a set of housing for residence of the owners and their employees, and equipped with private baths given the importance that the Romans always gave the hygiene and health care.

At its maximum extent the village would occupy an area of about five hundred square meters, with double spa, for both sexes, with rooms and hot and cold baths tanks. Today there are three tanks baths, rectangular, mortar wall built by taking the widest 24.5 meters long and about 4.6 meters wide.

Had a very complex internal structure, as shown excavation carried out especially in spa area. Three phase construction were identified in this space.

About 12 km from the city of Évora, you can find this Roman villa from an existing dirt deviation in the link road to Alcáçovas near the riverside Valverde. You can also get there on foot or by bike through a pedestrian path with signposts from Valverde (Évora).

 

villa-romana-de-nossa tourega.jpg

 

Anta de São Brissos (Anta are Brissos)

The Anta are Brissos, built between the 4th and the 3rd millennium BC, is located in Escoural Santiago parish, in Montemor-o-Novo municipality.

The tapir is now transformed into a small chapel, dating from the 17th century, and is therefore also known as Anta of Our Lady of Deliverance or Anta-Chapel of Our Lady of Deliverance.

The tapir-chapel incorporates three of the original struts, as well as part of the original camera coverage. The opening facing the east was covered.

It is classified by IGESPAR. It is a National Monument desde1910.

 

Herdade da Serrinha (Serrinha of Homestead)

The Serrinha of Homestead is located in Serra do Monfurado that is entered as a site of Natura 2000 by the importance that has for the conservation of habitats and rare wildlife species. The Monfurado name (Monte Stuck) probably had its origin in the many there cavities, such as Escoural Cave that is located about 1 km. This area has a very rich fauna and flora that we want come and discover. We provide several paths in and out of the estate that can be covered on foot or by bicycle.

Trail of the Caves Escoural this trail has as starting point the Herdade da Serrinha and arrival Caves Escoural. Ideal for walk on a sunny spring day, or in a summer day with the possibility of going through the embers in the shadow of a cork oak. The Herdade da Serrinha has the possibility of booking for their visit to the caves (only by appointment).

Rail Serrinha this route is done by the tabs of the hills surrounding the Herdade da Serrinha. The predominant vegetation consists of the cork oak and holm oak. In the mountain points with higher altitude can enjoy landscapes of sight, since the water mirrors that surround the mountain range to Viana do Alentejo.

Rail White House this trail begins at Herdade da Serrinha, going through all the neighboring farms until you reach the village of White House. This route is easily accessible and can be done on foot or by bike. In addition to the already characteristic mounted Alentejo, rural landscapes deserve special mention.

herdade serrinha.jpg

 

Igreja de Nossa Senhora da Boa Fé  (Church of Our Lady of Good Faith)

The Church of Our Lady of Good Faith was built in the early 16th century, having suffered subsequent amendments to the long 17th and 18th centuries.

Of rectangular shape, with façade facing north, this temple preserves the original construction the Manueline portal with a pointed arch framed by an arch curtain finished with pine cones and crowned by a cross of Santiago. Laterally, the columns that flank the portico are crowned by cogulhos.

The ship, with a rectangular plan and coverage in barrel vault, presents lined with panels of eighteenth-century tiles with Marian themes, the implementation of which is attributed to the Lisbon Workshop Bernardes. Flanking the main chapel, opened two side chapels dedicated to Dead Christ and Our Lady of the Rosary. The main chapel, also covered with tile panels with themes of life of the Virgin, submit to the center is a carved altarpiece whose throne is surmounted by a sixteenth-century polychrome sculpture of Our Lady of Good Faith (the Virgin and Child), an allusion the invocation of the temple. Attached to the church is the sacristy, divided into two premises, one of the original moth sixteenth year, with ribbed dome cover.

 

Menir dos Almendres  (Menhir Almendres)

The Menhir Almendres is located in the parish of Our Lady of Guadalupe, in the municipality of Évora, Évora District, Portugal.

Is a megalithic monument located on a hill 1.3 km north-east of Almendres Cromlech, presenting isolated this. Archaeologists believe that the two monuments are related.

 

menir almendres.jpg

 

Anta Grande do Zambujeiro de Valverde  (Anta Grande do Zambujeiro of Valverde)

Great Dolmen of The Zambujeiro is located about 500 meters from Valverde, in the beautiful county of Évora, in the vast Alentejo region.

This megalithic monument listed as a National Monument is one of the largest Antas Europe, as the biggest which are known throughout the Iberian Peninsula.

This is a region occupied by man since ancient times, existing even in the area several megalithic legacy of great importance.

The Anta Grande do Zambujeiro was discovered in 1965, and it was later carried out a study and research.

It would be used by Neolithic communities as a place of burial and tribute to their dead, probably also serving Shrine.

The set has 50 meters in diameter, comprising the polygonal chamber with 6 feet tall and a corridor about 12 meters long and 2 meters high and 1.5 meters wide, access to the outside.

The monument found himself covered by a gigantic Mound over 50 meters in diameter, and the excavation recovered an important estate of ritual objects of adornment, ceramic vessels, blades and arrowheads, among many others.

 

Gastronomy

ÉVORA

When it is said that the Alentejo cuisine revolves around bread, olive oil and herbs, even seems simple.

But knowing that does is ancestral. The recipes have been passed from generation to generation, and with them the secrets of the "hand" which raises the maximum power the exuberance of flavors

These pleasures can be such a perfect experience that justifies, by itself, several trips through the region. One is not enough. If you want to taste the fullness have to do as the Alentejo: eat and drink with the seasons.

Traditional cuisine is based on pork and lamb, olive oil, bread and herbs in the fields and streams that make rich and imaginative popular kitchen, and give life to the bread soup, the lamb soaked, the soup tion and game dishes. Beside this, the monastic tradition, and their desserts based on eggs, almonds and gila - thin bread, soaked, nun bellies.

In Évora, discover the thick bread, thin bread then, bacon-the-sky, soaked (Convent of Santa Clara), the heirs and queijadas

ensopado borrego.jpg

 (Ensopado de Borrego - Lamb stew)

 

Typical dishes

Soups:

Sopa de toucinho (Bacon soup)

Sopa de Caçao (Cation soup)

Sopa de baldroegas (Soups purslane)

Açorda the Alentejo

Gazpacho the Alentejo

Meat:

Ensopado de Borrego (Lamb stew)

Cabeça de Xara (Head xara)

Perdiz de Montemor (Partridge to Montemor)

Snacks:

Sarapatéis

Cacholeiras

Presuntos barrados a azeite  (Hams barred the oil)

Sargalheta de toucinho à moda de Évora  (Bacon Sargalheta stylish Évora)

Confectionery:

Encharcada do Convento de Santa Clara  (Soaked the Santa Clara Convent)

Trouxas-de-ovos  (Muggle-of-eggs)

Bolo de mel (Honey Cake)

Tibornas

Bread thin

Bolo Joana do Convento de Santa Clara  (Joan of Santa Clara Convent Cake)

Sericaia

Torreão Real de Évora  (Turret Real de Évora)

Queijadas de Évora  (Queijadas of Évora)

Toucinho da Madre Abadessa  (Bacon of the Mother Abbess) 

 

WINE AND OLIVE OIL

ÉVORA

Herdade da Fonte Coberta  (Homestead Source Covered)

Source Covered - Évora

7000-797 Évora

We strive for wine production, but also for livestock production

Wine production

One of the most important Wine Regions of Portugal, where the vineyard is currently the largest agricultural wealth of the region and where the production of fine wines is a reality, was born Herdade da Fonte Coberta.

Since the first wine-growing plantations, in 2003, there have been major investments in the vineyards (with complete and efficient drop irrigation equipment gout) and a modern winery equipped with the most advanced technology, built in harmony with the vineyard and all the surrounding area, have an area of 2600m2 distributed between the administrative area, laboratory, wine-making areas, bottling area and stage of the basement in the bottle and in oak barrels.

In 2006 was launched on the market the foremost wine produced in the Herdade da Covered Source: Monte Gold, the 2005 harvest.

The Herdade da Fonte located Covered, about, 5km south of the city of Évora, has a total area of 220 hectares, of which, currently planting of vines is approximately 170ha which is divided among various plots where they are planted several varieties, from which produces wine of excellent quality.

The average annual production forecast when in full production will be about 200,000 liters of white wine and 850,000 liters of red wine.

Exporting is one of the largest national economy development engines. Not being oblivious to this reality Herdade da Fonte Coberta has gathered efforts, investing in expanding the internationalization of its wines and is already possible to find the wines of Herdade da Fonte Covered in some European countries, Russia, China, Angola and Ivory Coast .

Since 2010 our wines Golden Acorn Selected Harvest Red, Herdade da Fonte Covered Red Book and the Source Book Cover White Estate have been distinguished in various competitions at national and international level. Among the various medals awarded highlight in 2013, the award of the wine Gold Medal "Golden Acorn Select Harvest 2011 Red" at the Concours Mondial de Bruxelles and the silver and bronze medals, respectively, to wines "Herdade da Source Book Cover 2008 Red "and" Herdade da Covered Source Book 2011 White "at the International Wine & Spirit Competition

 

herdade fonte coberta.jpg

 

Fundação Eugénio de Almeida - Adega Cartuxa  (Eugenio de Almeida Foundation - Cellar Charterhouse)

Road Soeira, 7000-769 Évora

  1. (+351) 266 748 383
  2. (+ 351) 266 700 024

The Eugenio de Almeida Foundation is a private institution of public utility, based in Évora. Your statutes have been drafted by the founder himself, Eng Vasco Maria Eugenio de Almeida, when it was created in 1963.

The institutional mission of the Foundation is delivered in the cultural and educational, social and health care fields, and for the development and spiritual elevation of Évora region.

Among its assets, donated by Institutor to be the economic foundation of mission development, we highlight a number of farmsteads in Évora municipality in which the Foundation develops the farming and industrial project.

Continuing the exploration of the vineyard, which from time immemorial is done in the region, Eugenio de Almeida Foundation is also heir to a long history in the wine sector, because since the late 19th century that the culture of the vine is part of the productive tradition of the House agricultural Eugenio de Almeida.

Environment / Landscape in which it operates:

Based on Thursday Valbom, 2 km from the historic center of Évora, World Heritage city, and 200 meters from the Carthusian convent that inspired its name, the Wine Tourism Charterhouse is located in the former refectory of the Jesuit retirement home, that teached at the University of Évora in the 16th and 17th centuries with their expulsion in 1759, by order of the Marquis of Pombal, the property now belongs to the state, starting a few years later, in 1776, to work as a major mill wine that absorbed the wine production in the region. Acquired in the 19th century by Eugenio de Almeida family, the Charterhouse Cellar has undergone several renovations and expansions over time, preserving the richness of its architectural and historical memory. The Cellar Charterhouse - Thursday Valbom is now one of the training centers of the wines produced by Eugenio de Almeida Foundation. The success of this wine project has enabled the Foundation to generate the resources needed to fulfill its mission, focused on the social, cultural and educational in the region.

Special features of the vineyard:

The vineyard area of Eugenio de Almeida Foundation extends over more than 300ha on the farms of Pines, Casito, Horta Poplar and Quinta de Valbom. The preference for consecrated Alentejanas castes, and recommended to the Denomination of Origin Controlled Alentejo, has been instrumental in the creation of the wines of FEA. Thus, in white wines are used mostly composed the Alentejo varieties Wardrobe, Antao Vaz and Arinto. The red wines are obtained from the Aragonez, Trincadeira and Ink Caiada.

 

adega cartuxa.jpg

 

LOGOWINES, SA (Casa Agricola Alexandre Relvas, Lda.)

Pepper Homestead - S. Miguel de Machede 7005 - 752 Évora

T + 351 214 858 764

  1. + 351 214 858 765

Established in 2007, the LOGOWINES aims production and grape wine, devoting himself so the operations of a cellar located in the pepper Estate, S. Miguel de Machede.

Acquired by Casa Agricola Alexandre Relvas, Lda. In 2011 to pepper the estate has 170 ha. The vineyard occupies 65 hectares of land, 10 of which in experimental field. The soils are mostly of granitic origin Clay Sandy with granite outcrops.

The Cellar LOGOWINES will have the capacity to produce, on cruise per year, about 2.5 million high-quality wine bottles, basing its operation in a truly business logic in relation to a profitable capacity utilization.

Location:

The LOGOWINES is located in San Miguel de Machede, 18Km from the city of Évora, in an exceptional tranquility and easy access environment.

Special Winery features:

The project's construction and equipment cellar integrates all the necessary components for a modern and efficient laboring in accordance with the highest standards of quality and enabling the application of oenological techniques to produce wines of excellence.

Regarding industrial innovation, the construction of the tanks was based on an innovative principle which consists in the superposition of fermentation and storage tanks. The tanks are double well, while at its top component have a ferment and lower the retention component.

 

logowines.jpg

 

Pêra Grave - Soc. Agrícola Unipessoal Lda  (Pear Record - Agricultural Soc Unipessoal Lda)

Fifth St. Joseph of Peramanca | EN 114 - 5 km Évora

Apartado 130 | 7006-802 Évora

  1. (+351) 266 785 045
  2. (+ 351) 266 785 045

Quinta de S. José de Peramanca is located in the heart of the famous region known at least since the sixth century. XIV, cited in inquiries Fernandinas as - "VINEYARDS AND Peramanca LAND".

According Tulio Espanca the artistic inventory of Portugal: "The Chapel of the Quinta de S. José de Peramanca was built in realengas land where for centuries had experienced with fruit made famous wine Peramanca, which is quoted in the sixteenth century chronicles and was exported largely, in the Portuguese fleets in demand from overseas lands. "

The crowning excellence, the wines produced in the region Peramanca gain in the late 19th century several medals in international competitions, including gold in Bordeaux.

The current wines produced in this Thursday, offer you the opportunity to return to enjoy the remarkable wines produced by the Peramanca riverside.

peraq grave.jpg

 

End of circuit

Post by: António Duro

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 15:49

Cultural heritage - historical - architecture - religious - Gastronomy - Wine and Olive Oil .

Duration – 1 week 

Circuito do Alentejo capa eng.jpg

12 - ARRAIOLOS

Travel: Estremoz »Arraiolos: 41 kms

Travel time (expected): 60 minutes.

The Village

The foundation of Arraiolos to Sabine, Tusculanos and Alban, who were occupants of Évora before Sertorius and gave the government of Arraiolos to Rayeo captain, Greek name.

From this name seems to have then derived the name of our village, as the Rayeo name has been calling Rayolis, Rayeopolis, Arrayolos and today Arraiolos.

However, it is in 1217 with the granting of Arraiolos term by King Alfonso II, the Bishop of Évora D. Soeiro and to the chapter of the Cathedral of the same city, which begins a new chapter in our history.

In 1290, Arraiolos receives the 1st Foral, D. Dinis, and the same monarch orders the building the castle in 1305, and on 26 December 1305 the Council represented by João Anes and Martim Fernandes, accorded with the King the contract for its construction.

Arraiolos County was Nuno Alvares Pereira - 2nd Earl of Arraiolos - from the year 1387. Before taking the Carmo Convent in Lisbon, the kingdom Constable, remained here long periods of his life.

In 1511 gets new Register of D. Manuel.

Over the years there have been many changes in their territory, and administrative boundaries defined from 1736, suffered, however, several changes:

- Inclusion in the district of Evora (1835); Annexation of Vimieiro municipality (1855); Annexation of the municipality of Mora (1895); detaching the municipality of Mora (1898).

Situated in the south interior, the vast Alentejo region, Arraiolos is today a municipality with 684,08Km2, for a population of 7616 inhabitants (census 2001) spread over 7 parishes: Arraiolos Vimieiro, small church, St. Peter's Gafanhoeira, elderberry, S. Gregory and Santa Justa.

ARRAIOLOS LAND OF CARPETS is still the centuries of history of hand embroidery by generations of embroiderers who did come to the present day our most genuine handicraft the "Arraiolos Carpet".

The earliest written reference that today is known is in the inventory of Catarina Rodrigues, the wife of João Lourenço, farmer and resident in Bolelos Homestead, term of Arraiolos, where, by the year 1598, describes the existence of a tera carpet avalliado new mill, in two Kings.

One is still the archaeological excavations in the Lima Square and Brito at the beginning of the 21st Century, under the responsibility of the archaeologist Ana Gonçalves, without prejudice to a more detailed investigation, induce the start of production of carpets in Arraiolos to a previous phase to 15th century.

The county, along with the wealth of its landscape, holds a vast built heritage that the City Council has sought to preserve and enhance.

 

Castle Arraiolos

Arraiolos Castle, also known as Palace of Mayors, located in the village, parish and municipality of Arraiolos, in the district of Evora, Portugal. Stands out as one of the rare plant circular castles in the world.

Background

The early human occupation of the rocky hill known as Mount St. Peter, north of Arraiolos, is attested by some quartz firing pins and prehistoric copper ax, found during archaeological prospection in the castle fortress, currently in Évora Museum.

It is believed that the settlement has been formed itself around 300 BC

The fortification idea of this location dates back to the homestead called donation of Arraiolos made by Alfonso II (1211-1223) to D. Soeiro, Bishop of Évora, with permission for it to arise a castle (1217).

With the density of population, a new determination to raising a defense dates back to an agreement signed between King Dinis (1279-1325), the Mayor, the Judges and the Municipality of Arraiolos Village (1305), which stipulated the obligation to rise, around the village, "207 fathoms wall, three fathoms high and wide to fathom, and to do in said wall Dous portaes Darco with their doors, and Dous square cubellos in each door ".

These works were started in 1306, with a budget of 2,000 pounds granted by the monarch, and traces of authorship of John Simon. Thus, in 1310, the year in which the sovereign confirmed a charter, (...) the work was ready bricks and mortar and good defense, built a lot of conical shape, high on all neighbors and picturesquely crowned, at the apex, the ancient Church of the Savior Mother.

The castle began to suffer abandonment from the 14th century, because it is a windy place, cold, reputed as unpleasant to live. King Ferdinand (1367-1383) tried to remedy this situation by granting special privileges to its inhabitants (1371). These measures, however, proved useless, because not close the doors at night, depriving the sacraments residents out, managed to prevent the depopulation of fortification.

After the outcome of the 1383-1385 crisis, the areas of the town and its castle were donated to Constable D. Nuno Alvares Pereira (1387), awarded the title of Earl of Arraiolos. Between 1385 and 1390, here left several military expeditions against the Constable Castile.

16th century to the present day

At the end of the 16th century the castle was still inhabited, closing every night by the bell signal (1599). At that time a large number of new homes have spread to nearby slopes. In the early 17th century, however, was already naked, looking at their building materials were looted and harboring a corral on your Patio de Armas.

In 1613 the castle and its buildings were in an advanced state of disrepair, as complaints from officials of the City Council at the time.

At the time of the Restoration of Portugal's independence, under the reign of King John IV (1640-1656), the wall of the town and its castle received refurbishment works by strategic needs (1640). A few years later, in 1655, the castle returned to present ruin, with fallen Barbican, the Watchtower split and abandoned, and the Palace of Mayors uninhabitable.

A century later, the 1755 earthquake increased the damage you.

In the 19th century, its Patio de Armas served as a graveyard for cholera victims morbus in the region (1833).

In the early 20th century was a National Monument by Decree published on 23 June 1910. In the period from 1959 to 1963, the castle and the walls of Arraiolos, were partially restored by the Directorate General for National Buildings and Monuments (DGEMN ).

The set, made by the Mayors Hall of fortification and the surrounding walls, has square plan, with elements of Romanesque and Gothic style.

Built in the north section of the wall, the Palace of Mayors, of square plan, is dominated by the castle keep. This is internally divided into four floors, topped by adarve protected by merlons. Articulates the east side with the houses of the guard, towering at the door of the Plaza de Armas, and the west, with the palatial hotels.

The solid wall crenellated, broad and regular time describing an ellipsoid shape, is now well maintained. It formed part originally two doors:

  • The Village Gate (or the Barbican), the South, today reduced to a large opening in the wall; and
  • Port of Santarem, the Northwest, in Gothic style, flanked by two turrets or towers.

Still seems to have been a false door or hatch on the east side, where the wall has some ruin.

The Clock Tower, enriched with aspire to the time of King Manuel (1495-1521), seems to be one of the turrets of the old port Barbican, with the other supplied by the great keep.

It stands in the castle parade ground, the Church of the Savior.

A local tradition says that there is a secret underground passage connecting the castle in the Convent of Our Lady of the Assumption (Convent Lóios).

castelo Arraiolos1.jpg

 

 

Pelourinho de Arraiolos (Pillory Arraiolos)

Situated in Lima and Brito square. Consisting of a marble shaft, prismatic and spiraled after the ring. At the top has a capital which leaves four iron arms with rings.

 

Convento dos Lóios / Igreja Nossa Senhora da Assunçao (Lóios Convent / Church of Our Lady of the Assumption)

Construction of the 16th century and is characterized by the coexistence of architectural and decorative styles. In the church dominates the Manuel-Mudejar style and the convent is used the Baroque. Monument was founded by Saint Eloi order and is dedicated to Our Lady of the Assumption.

loios.jpg

 

Monument to the tapestry maker in Arraiolos

Built in Republic Square sculpture honors the main regional product Arraiolos: carpets. Known across the country, this tapestry is characterized by being embroidered with wool on a jute fabric, cotton or linen.

The Interpretive Center Arraiolos Carpet is a permanent museum space and to community service, whose mission is to promote the study and dissemination of Arraiolos carpet, as well as its conservation, protection, recovery and recognition as historical, artistic and ethnographic, both in its present tangible and intangible.

Museum institution of municipal protection, it is assumed as a center for the dissemination and study of areas of Ethnography, History and Ornamental Arts which aims to establish and promote relations with different audiences and communities, and the carpet of Arraiolos the starting point and arrival a trip by art and Portuguese feature crafts.

The Interpretive Center Arraiolos Carpet is the result of reflection in which it was intended to link the history, origins and influences of Arraiolos carpet, its artisanal production process, their techniques and materials, its actors and holders and present the developmental profile of Arraiolos carpet over the centuries. His artistic evolution, material and technique.

Reported to the territory and the social environment in which it operates, the Interpretation Centre of Arraiolos Carpet is assumed as an essential tool with regard to the preservation, enhancement and safeguarding of Arraiolos carpet and is a means of promotion and defense of a set of cultural objects for generations contributed to the construction and transmission of collective memory Arraiolense people.

 

Arraiolos-Tapestry-Monument-Terre-Midi-LED-IMG_788

 

GASTRONOMY

ARRAIOLOS

With its aromas and traditional flavors, accompanied by our wine varieties selected by the convent sweets, the cheese and the honey, Arraiolense and Alentejo cuisine is something which makes you want to know.

Assuming its socio-cultural and economic importance, gastronomy is an integral part of the tourism quality that Arraiolos wants to give.

The dishes of "Pig", of "Borrego", of "calf", the "Soups Alentejo", the "açordas" and "migas" highlight the diversity of our cuisine, linked to rural areas, preserved, with all its cultural importance, representing a contribution to developing and promoting the rich heritage of our county and enhance our capabilities in tourism.

 

pasteistoucinho.jpg

 (Pastéis toucinho de Arraiolos - Bacon crayons Arraiolos)

 

Typical dishes

Soups:

Açorda de bacalhjau com ovos (Cod with egg Açorda)

Poejada de bacalhau com ovo escalfado (Poejada cod with poached egg)

Sopa de tomates com enchidos e ovo escalfado (Tomato soup with sausages and poached egg)

Meat:

Migas de espargos (Creamed asparagus)

Migas de batatas (Potato Migas)

Migas de broa de milho com couve (Creamed corn bread with cabbage)

Migas de tomate com secretos (Tomato Migas with Secret)

Fish:

Migas de Bacalhau no tarro com gambas e ovo picadinho (Cod Migas in jar with prawns and chopped egg)

Confectionery:

Pastéis toucinho de Arraiolos (Bacon crayons Arraiolos)

 

 

WINE AND OLIVE OIL

ARRAIOLOS

Adega das Mouras de Arraiolos Lda (Cellar of Moorish Arraiolos Lda.)

Monte Mouras, St. Gregory

7040-419 SAINT GREGORY ARL

Wine production

The Cellar draft of the Moorish began in 2000 with the purchase of land by a businessman from Lisbon, Henrique Neves dos Santos.

The estate has a total of more than 300 hectares and is a large part under vines. The estate has a veritable sea of vines over 226ha. We have one of the three largest continuous vineyards of Europe, which was completed between 2004-2005. Older strains are 2002, the year he began planting the vineyard we have today. Between 2000 and 2002 tore up came to grape production table that already existed there and studied the specific terroir cellar of Moorish, in order to prepare the soil for planting wine and decide the varieties named.

The Rosary Colaco master, now deceased, was instrumental in the decisions. The Trincadeira, our Alentejaninha represents 45% of the vineyard, but we still have Aragonez, Cabernet Sauvignon, Touriga Nacional, Syrah, Tinta Caiada, Pinot Noir, Caiada Paint, Tempranillo and Alicante Bouschet as red varieties. As white varieties were chosen exclusively Portuguese 4: Verdelho, Perrum, Antao Vaz and Arinto.

 

adega moiura arraiolos.jpg

 

Herdade dos Coelheiros, Soc. Agrícola SA

Lot of Coelheiros | 7040-202 Igreijinha

  1. (+351) 266 470 000
  2. (+ 351) 266 470 008

The Herdade dos Coelheiros is a family owned, with about 800 ha, adherent to the Alentejo Wine Route, undertaking various activities and products derived from cultures of vineyards, olive groves, walnut orchard, mounted and the tourist hunting area, keeping all the Alentejo tradition features.

In perfect communion with nature, the Coelheiros Hill welcomes the visitor providing for a comfortable stay, the experience and knowledge of farming and hunting, tasting the wines of Tapada Coelheiros, Vineyard Tapada Coelheiros and White Almeida and regional gastronomy, guided tours, a picturesque universe and characteristic history of Évora region.

Classic estate of Alentejo: productions park (vineyards, olive groves, walnut orchard and mounted, ponds, dam and springs) and wild park in mounted with big game and black pig.

Traditional vineyards, conducted in bi-lateral cord, not watered.

White varieties and indigenous inks Alentejo (arinto, wardrobe, antão vaz, trincadeira, Aragonez, Alicante Bouschet and Castellan) and foreign (chardonnay, sauvignon blanc, cabernet sauvignon, merlot, syrah and petit verdot)

Modern winery with traditional processes, according to the rigor of Quality Management and Food Security: ISO 9001 and ISO 22000

Stage cellars in oak barrels.

herdade dos coelheiros.jpg

 

to be continued...

Post by: António Duro

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 15:34

Cultural heritage - historical - architecture - religious - Gastronomy - Wine and Olive Oil .

Duration – 1 week 

Circuito do Alentejo capa eng.jpg

11 - ESTREMOZ

Travel: Vila Viçosa »Estremoz: 26 kms

Travel time (expected): 30 minutes.

The City

Estremoz is a Portuguese city in the district of Evora, Alentejo region, Alentejo Central sub-region, with 8662 inhabitants.

It is the seat of a municipality with 513.8 km ² and 14,318 inhabitants (2011), subdivided into nine parishes. The municipality is bordered to the north by the municipalities of Sousel and Frontier, northeast of Monforte, southeast by Borba, south by Redondo and west by Évora and Arraiolos.

It is internationally known for its white marble quarries, called Marble Estremoz. Operation of Estremoz marble has a very ancient origin, as evidenced by the Roman Temple of Évora, which contains marble originating in Estremoz. Is located on the main altar of the Cathedral of Évora.

The Estremoz was awarded the distinction of "Outstanding Villa" issued by the Kings of Portugal to many of their villages; was elevated to city status in 1926.

In 1336, Queen Isabel, then aged 65, went to Estremoz from the Franciscan convent in Coimbra where he was taken after the death of D. Dinis, her husband, in order to avoid a war between his son Afonso IV and the king of Castile Alfonso XI. Afonso IV declared war on Alfonso XI by the mistreatment inflicted this to his wife Maria (daughter of the Portuguese king). The Queen Isabel stood between the two estranged armies, and again avoided the war as had happened in 1323 at the Battle of Alvalade, between the troops of King Dinis and Afonso IV.

Estremoz was the king's death place D. Pedro I, in 1367, in the Franciscan convent.

In the 1383-1385 crisis, was one of the cities that revolted in Alentejo in favor of John of Aviz, shortly after the assassination of Count Andeiro in Lisbon. It was near Estremoz that occurred the first battle between the Portuguese and Spaniards at the time, the battle of Atoleiros wins for the first under the Nuno Alvares Pereira command.

In 1659, it was in Estremoz that the Portuguese army met the orders of D. António Luís de Meneses, Count of Cantanhede, to help Elvas, which was surrounded by a Spanish army, commanded by Don Luis de Haro. From there out to defeat the Spanish in the Battle of Elvas lines and caused huge casualties to their opponents.

In 1663 the Spanish army, commanded by King John of Austria and the Portuguese army, commanded by the Counts of Vila Flor and Schomberg clashed in the fields of Ameixial 5 km from Estremoz. The Spanish army had just won Évora. Consisted of 3,000 knights and 2,000 men on foot, and this is one of the most dangerous Spanish attacks during the War of Restoration. After the battle, the Spanish army withdrew to Badajoz.

In February 1821, Mouzinho da Silveira was in charge of Finance of the collection of diligence in Estremoz.

Estremoz also has the oldest brass band in the country in continuous activity, the Philharmonic Society Luzitana (Royal Philharmonic Luzitana).

 

Castelo de Evora-Monte (Castle Évora Monte)

Castle Évora Monte, also referred to as Evoramonte Castle, is located in the town of Evora Monte, Estremoz, Évora District, Alentejo, Portugal.

Erected in one of the highest points of the Ossa mountain range, in the village center, the top of its walls is dominated a large area around until the Estremoz Castle.

Background

It is believed that the early human occupation of this site dates back to prehistory.

The medieval castle.

At the time of the Christian Reconquest of the Iberian Peninsula, the town was conquered from the Moors by the Portuguese forces commanded by the legendary Geraldo Fearless, around 1160, at which time the castle it started.

Its defenses were recovered by determination of D. Afonso III (1248-1279), sovereign who granted him the first charter (1248), renovated in 1271. These attempts at settlement, however, does not appear to have been successful, since his successor, King Dinis (1279-1325), ordered the fortification of the village (1306), it has gotten around in and the doors.

With the rise of John, Master of Avis to the throne, the Castle of Évora Monte and his dominions passed into the possession of the Constable D. Nuno Alvares Pereira, but eventually integrating the areas of the House of Braganza.

In the early modern period, Manuel I of Portugal (1495-1521) granted Foral New to the village (1516), starting her new constructive stage. Getting the old castle donjon destroyed by the earthquake of 1531, the following year, under the direction of Captain-General, D. Theodosius of Bragança, is rebuilt as a palace of Italian Renaissance-inspired, with risk attributed to Diogo architects and Francisco de Arruda.

19th century to the present day

The town and its castle lost strategic importance over the centuries. Here was signed the Convention of Évora Monte (26 May 1834) closing the Liberal Wars. Finally, on 24 October 1855 its county was definitely extinct, and your old term shared by the neighboring municipalities of Estremoz, Évora, Arraiolos and Redondo.

The castle and around the town were considered as a National Monument by Decree published on 23 June 1910. The consolidation and restoration work began on the end of the 1930s continuing in 1940. New campaigns interventions followed one of 1971 to 1987, giving the monument its current appearance.

The castle, stone masonry and granite stonework has square plan, with circular towers at the corners, mixing elements of the Gothic style with the Renaissance style of Italian inspiration. Internally divided into three floors, with vaulted ceilings, based on stone pillars. In wider in turrets base than at the top, ripping visors. Cloths are adorned with Us carved in stone, typical of the Manueline style.

Castelo-de-Evoramonte.jpg

 

Capela de D. Fradique de Portugal (Chapel of D. Fradique de Portugal)

Situated within the Church of San Francisco and likely foundation of the late 15th century or early 16th century, the Chapel of D. Fradique de Portugal (Viceroy of Catalonia and Archbishop of Zaragoza), is a manufactory clearly funerary monument, according Gonçalo Lopes.

Capela_de_D._Fradique_(altar).jpg

 

Convento dos Congregados (Convent Congregados)

The Convent of Our Lady of Conception Congregados the Oratory of St. Philip Nery Estremoz had royal order of D. Pedro II (r 1675 -. 1706) to be built in 1697. Between 1698 and 1700 begin the works and in 1703 begins its second season, already begun with the church. In the middle of this century are seated the tile panels that are all over the convent. The church was never finished until 1961, the year he began to contract for the rest of the facade construction, completed in 1967. In 1974 they shut the dome of the main chapel. After a few years without work, the church, property of the City Council was transferred to St. Andrew Parish and this ushered in the full church in 1995, almost three centuries after it was started. The facade of the church, rare and erudite element, brought something new to the "monotony" of architecture Alentejo: the main elevation "undulating". Under Italian architectural aesthetics seventeenth connected to Francesco Borromini (n 1599 -.. 1667 m), this dynamic effect appears as opposed to classic Renaissance and Mannerist vein, more static and stable.

 

convento dos congregados.JPG

 

Casa do Alcaide-Mor  (House of Alcaide-Mor)

  1. Sancho de Noronha orders to build this noble house to his private residence around 1450, valuing the medieval village with the most interesting facade of civil architecture in the upper part of Estremoz. This reveals a remarkable hybrid of uniqueness, showing various styles from Mudéjar (15th century and early 16th century, coexisting with the Gothic Final and the Manueline), the Renaissance, the Manueline or Neoclassical.

 

Casa_do_Alcaide-Mor.jpg

 

Claustro do Convento das Maltezas (Convent of the cloister of Maltezas)

The Convent of St. John of Penance, best known for Convent of Maltezas, was the seat of cloistered nuns of the Order of Malta from the century. 16. Your Cloister is the largest of all the convents of the city and shows us the Manueline architecture. Each wing has ten arches, subdivided into four terraced arches and two simple, all sigladas by teachers who provided beds and fashioned stones that constitute them. The stems (central part of the columns) are supported on square bases, whose capitals are presented indifferently simple and plain or with naturalistic motifs. The corbels Dome in warhead, with typically Manueline motifs and anthropomorphic and zoomorphic motifs, are very curious and artistically interesting.

 

maltezes.jpeg

 

Capela da Rainha Santa Isabel (Chapel of Queen Isabel)

The panels in tiles and oil paintings are representative of life and legendary imagery of Santa Isabel Queen, including the miracles attributed to him, which were the cause of his canonization in 1625 by Pope Urban VIII. The lush chorus built in white marble displays a Latin inscription, 1808, to thank the people of Estremoz to St. Elizabeth to have her protected from looting resulting from the Napoleonic wars.

 

capela rainha sta isabel.jpg

 

Conjunto Monumental da Alcáçova de Estremoz - Castelo (Monumental set the Alcazaba de Estremoz – Castle)

In the center of the medieval village comes to Keep, one of the best preserved of the country. With about 27 meters high, has square plan and is crowned with merlons in pyramidal shape. Typical of the Portuguese military architecture of the late 13th century and early 14th century, is what remains of the primitive fortress, along with the trecentista building of City Hall. On the second floor there is a beautiful octagonal room with columns and capitals of animalistic anthropomorphic reasons.

On the terrace are the so-called Three Crowns, representing, according to some authors, the three kingdoms which took place in the works of their deployment.

Pousada de Vila Viçosa, D. João IV

In the main face on the outside, the South depicts the arms of King Afonso III (r. 1245-1279) with two angels to protect them.

Currently occupied by the Pousada da Rainha Santa Isabel, the former Royal Palace was adapted medieval war warehouse in the reign of King John V (r. 1707-1750) in 1736, coming from Carlos Andreis technical assistance of works. It is one of the best examples of Baroque Joanine in Estremoz, with pentagonal plan and flanked by round towers. Of note: the trapezoidal courtyard with a central fountain with a fountain marble dolphins; the access staircase Arms room with two types of tile panels, one in blue and white stripes with baroque and naturalistic motifs, inspired by oriental tapestry, and other ashlars floral motifs, Johannine the mid 18th century; Arms Room, where there are still some gilt and polychrome doors with real shells.

In the old royal convent of the Chagas de Cristo (Christ’s Wounds)

The Pousada de Vila Viçosa, opened in 1996, is installed in the historical centre of this Alentejo city.

The Pousada is found in the old Convento Real das Chagas de Cristo (The Royal Convent of Stigmas of Christ) ordered built by D. Jaime, the forth Duke of Bragança in the sixteenth century.

  1. Jaime ordered the building of this religious house to serve as Pantheon for the Ladies of the House and to welcome his daughters from his second marriage who could not decently marry.

Through the years some legends became associated with the Pousada.

Ever since the mythical presence of the last mother superior, who still watches over by the convent, the attempt to build a direct passage to the Paço Ducal, which lies next to the Pousada.

It is believed that the frescoes of the building were written by Cecilia of the Holy Spirit, poet and painter, who worked in the convent until the date of her death in 1723.

Staying at the Pousada de Vila Viçosa is a trip to the furthest reaches of fantasies, we guarantee extraordinary experiences.

With its themed rooms, staying in this hotel is like sleeping in a museum, where for a moment we are actors in this imaginary world.

From the " Teacher's Room ", that was once a rite of passage of prosperity, the old drawing room, one of the only areas in the convent where men could be present, up to the Duchess’s suite.

Be sure to check the other rooms; spaces of comfort, harmony and modernity.

The Pousada de Vila Viçosa is a genuine lure for those who appreciate the best of Portuguese cuisine. 

The fine cuisine and convent recipes will mark the experience of any who choose to eat at the Pousada’s restaurant.

The D. Carlos Restaurant also offers the best wines of the region (Borba, Estremoz, Redondo, Reguengos and Évora).

In the bar ""Sabores da Terra"" (Flavours of the Earth) you will find the perfect place to snack and relax, enjoying all that the Alentejo cuisine and traditions have to offer.

 

pousada-estremoz-corredor.jpg

 

Torre de Menagem  (Watchtower)

In the center of the medieval village comes to Keep, one of the best preserved of the country. With about 27 meters high, has square plan and is crowned with merlons in pyramidal shape. Typical of the Portuguese military architecture of the late 13th century and early 14th century, is what remains of the primitive fortress, along with the trecentista building of City Hall. On the second floor there is a beautiful octagonal room with columns and capitals of animalistic anthropomorphic reasons.

 

Torres da Couraça (Towers of harness)

In Estremoz, the armor would be an integral part of the medieval wall, possibly coeval of the Keep. All walled structure that connected the towers to the fence was destroyed in the late 17th century.

 

torre da couraça.jpg

 

Ermida da Nossa Senhora dos Mártires (Chapel of Our Lady of Martyrs)

Our Lady of Martyrs is the few chapels of Estremoz Municipality with medieval features.

Artistically, there are several elements to report, with its typically Gothic apse the most recognized. However, inside, there are two important architectural monuments: the Manueline (patent on the arc shot that supports the choir, with pendants decoration balls and socks, with plaited columns, all marble) and the Rococo Home (blue tile panels on white background with episodes of Life of the Virgin and Christ).

 

Igreja S. Francisco (Church of San Francisco)

The interior has a rectangular plan, three naves and five spans. The Gothic verticality provides proof of its medieval foundation, and the decorative elements of this time are of naturalistic feature, zoomorphic and anthropomorphic. The Baroque period is the Tree of Jesse, the reign of King John IV (r. 1640-1656). Was paid by the Brotherhood of Our Lady of the Rosary in 1652. This rare altarpiece in gilt corresponds to one of three beautiful examples that still exist in Portugal.

 

Villa Romana de Santa Vitória do Ameixial

The Roman villa of Santa Vitória do Ameixial have been built in the context of Romanization of the Iberian Peninsula, being inserted in the province of Lusitania, whose capital was situated in Merida (Emerita Augusta).

The villa will have had a first occupation in the century. 1, as documented by the appearance of a Nero and ceramic chip dated this period. However, the most significant occupation in terms of material remains, it is the Lower-Empire (late 3rd century / early 4th century).

The area corresponding to the pars urban villa (plant owners) stretched along the entire elevation down to the West and lying largely under the settlement. This area consists of rooms and corridors paved the mosaic, arranged around a tank, the rock for rainwater harvesting. We also found areas of kitchen and food storage, as well as examples of tanks and a complex network of sanitation and water circulation

 

vila romana ameixial.gif

 

Bacalhoa Vinhos de Portugal (Bacalhôa Wines of Portugal)

Founded in 1922 under the name Joan Smith & Sons, has come a long way, asserting itself as one of the most innovative wine producers in Portugal.

The activity of the company began as the production of wines with grapes from Palmela region. During the 80s, the Bacalhôa Wines of Portugal created a new dynamism, through a strong focus on the most modern techniques of viticulture and enology, creating new paradigms in the national panorama of the production of quality wines.

In 1998, José Berardo became the major shareholder and continued the mission of the company, including investing in planting new vineyards in the modernization of wineries and acquiring new properties as well as through partnership started with Lafitte Rothschild on Fifth do Carmo.

The company acquired the Quinta do Carmo and the Lafitte Rothschild Group got some actions Bacalhôa group Wines of Portugal.

In 2007 Bacalhôa became the largest shareholder in the Alliance, one of the most prestigious producers of high-quality sparkling wines, spirits such as table wines of Portugal.

Bacalhôa Portugal Wines has wineries in the most important regions of Portugal: Douro, Dao, Bairrada, Setúbal Peninsula (Azeitão), Lisbon and Alentejo.

The rich heritage of the company stands out from the Palace and Quinta da Bacalhôa - important national monument of the Renaissance - the Solar and Quinta dos Loridos, where Europe's largest Oriental Garden and the outstanding collection of tiles.

The project implemented in various estates under the theme "Art, Wine, Passion" aims to surprise the most demanding expectations. The vineyards to the wine, all the wine process is involved in various scenarios including tradition and modernity, with several art exhibitions, from painting to sculpture, never forgetting the magnificent natural works, as are ancient olive trees transplanted Alqueva.

With a total capacity of 20 million liters, 15,000 oak barrels and an area of vineyards in production of about 1000 hectares, Bacalhôa Portugal wines continues its commitment to innovation in the sector, with a view to creating wines that provide to all its unique experiences and surprising consumers with a high quality and consistency.

 

bacalhoa.jpg

 

Gastronomy

ESTREMOZ

The regional cuisine, created from a reduced variety of ingredients and simple process, found the wisdom of the people, is a treat for the senses.

Predominate meat pork and lamb, traditional soups spicy wheat bread with herbs (which grow naturally in the fields), sheep milk cheese and sausages.

The monastic tradition offers sweets made on the basis of egg yolks, almonds and gila.

Holder of a unique cultural heritage and a number of hotel units, accessible to different "bags", Estremoz attracts more and more visitors.

 

cozido grao.jpeg

 (Cozido de grao a alentejaa - Grain cooked to Alentejo)

 

Typical dishes

Soups:

Sopa de Caçao (Cation soup)

Sopa de hortela (Mint Soup)

Sopa da panela (Pot of soup)

Sopa de cebola (Onion soup)

Sopa de tomate (Tomato soup)

Sopa de espargo bravo (Asparagus soup brave)

Sopa de baldroegas (Purslane soup)

Açorda

Gazpacho

Sopa de batatas (Potato soup)

Fish:

Caçao de coentrada (Tion with coriander)

Poejada de bacalhau (Poejada cod)

Meat:

Ensopado de Borrego (Lamb stew)

Borrego assado no forno (Lamb roast)

Cozido de grao a alentejaa (Grain cooked to Alentejo)

Pézinhos de coentrada (Trotters with coriander)

Feijão branco com cabeça ou orelha de porco (White beans with pig's head or ear)

 

Burras assadas (baked Burras)

Cabeças de Borrego assadas (Roasted lamb heads)

Linguas estufadas (language steamed)

Cachola (nut)

Túbaros

Favas com Mouros (Broad beans with Moorish)

Game dishes:

Lebre estufada com Nabos (Hare stewed with turnips)

Guisado de javali (Boar stew)

Confectionery:

Sopa dourada (golden soup)

Pao de rala (Bread thin)

Encharcada (soaked)

Barrigas de freira ("Bellies of Nun")

"Toucinho da Madre Abadessa” (Bacon of the Mother Abbess)

Queijadas

Bolema 

 

WINE AND OLIVE OIL

ESTREMOZ

Bacalhoa Vinhos de Portugal, SA (Bacalhôa, Portugal Wines, SA)

Herdade das Carvalhas, 7100-040 Estremoz

  1. (+351) 268 337 320
  2. (+ 351) 268 337 321

Bacalhôa Wines of Portugal, founded in 1922, under the name Joan Smith & Sons, has come a long way, asserting itself as one of the most innovative wine producers in Portugal.

The activity of the company began as the production of wines with grapes from Palmela region. During the 80s, the Bacalhôa Wines of Portugal created a new dynamism, through a strong focus on the most modern techniques of viticulture and enology, creating new paradigms in the national panorama of the production of quality wines.

In 1998, José Berardo became the major shareholder and continued the mission of the company, including investing in planting new vineyards in the modernization of wineries and acquiring new properties as well as through partnership started with Lafitte Rothschild on Fifth do Carmo.

The company acquired the Quinta do Carmo and the Lafitte Rothschild Group got some actions Bacalhôa group Wines of Portugal.

In 2007 Bacalhôa became the largest shareholder in the Alliance, one of the most prestigious producers of high-quality sparkling wines, spirits such as table wines of Portugal.

Bacalhôa Portugal Wines has wineries in the most important regions of Portugal: Douro, Dao, Bairrada, Setúbal Peninsula (Azeitão), Lisbon and Alentejo.

The rich heritage of the company stands out from the Palace and Quinta da Bacalhôa - important national monument of the Renaissance - the Solar and Quinta dos Loridos, where Europe's largest Oriental Garden and the outstanding collection of tiles.

The project implemented in various estates under the theme "Art, Wine, Passion" aims to surprise the most demanding expectations. The vineyards to the wine, all the wine process is involved in various scenarios including tradition and modernity, with several art exhibitions, from painting to sculpture, never forgetting the magnificent natural works, as are ancient olive trees transplanted Alqueva.

With a total capacity of 20 million liters, 15,000 oak barrels and an area of vineyards in production of about 1000 hectares, Bacalhôa Portugal wines continues its commitment to innovation in the sector, with a view to creating wines that provide to all its unique experiences and surprising consumers with a high quality and consistency.

Adega do Monte Branco (Mont Blanc Cellar)

Apartado 21, 7100-145 Estremoz

  1. (+351) 268 098 077
  2. (+ 351) 268 098 078

Built in 2006, the Mont Blanc Winery is located in Estremoz and has capacity to produce 200,000 liters of wine.

 After 6 years of experience working in Quinta do Mouro with his Father, and you have finished their higher education, which also featured an accomplished stage in Sonoma County - California, in 2004 Luís Louro decides to push ahead with his personal project in wine production.

 This project, its mission, the production of wines in the Alentejo, mostly based on Portuguese grape varieties. This mission said the main pillars / values of the project: modernity, quality and price.

It is intended that these wines, produced from owned and leased vineyards grapes, are wines with a modern profile with an excellent quality / price ratio, which will meet the expectations of today's consumers, but at the same time have a distinct personality and character, as will the association to the site and the producer and thus make them so different from the competition.

Environment / Landscape:

The Mont Blanc Winery is located in Estremoz, Alentejo town where there is the highest concentration of wine producers with its own natural and climatic characteristics for the production of excellent Portuguese wines.

Special features of the vineyard:

The 25 came from the farm ha are planted in two soil types: granite and limestone.

The vines are conducted in bilateral cord and have a planting density of 3200 and 3700 trees per hectare.

The varieties used are: Aragonez, Trincadeira, Alicante Bouschet, Touriga Nacional, Merlot, Syrah in paint, and white Wardrobe, Arinto and Antão Vaz.

All wines in the cellar, are produced with grapes from only of owned and leased vineyards where Luís Louro assume technical responsibility for the entire process, from grape production to the production of wine.

 

monte branco.jpg

J. Portugal Ramos Vinhos, SA (J. Portugal Ramos, SA Wines)

Vila Santa | 7100-149 Estremo

(+351) 268 339 91 (+ 351) 268 339 918

For over 20 years the name João Portugal Ramos is linked to Portuguese wines, first as consultant winemaker known brands of wine and, since 1992, as bottler producer. The success and awards accumulated throughout his career earned him national and international recognition as a major contributor to the evolution of Portuguese wines in the last decade.

The Alentejo was the region chosen to produce their first wines. In 1990, João Portugal Ramos planted the first five hectares of vineyards in Estremoz, where he lives since 1988, starting his personal project. Extended its activity beyond the Alentejo since 1989, reaching the Ribatejo, the borders and the Douro.

At this time the vineyard area totals 500 hectares in Alentejo.

The winery building in Estremoz, Vila Santa, began in 1997 and was expanded in 2000.

Environment / Landscape in which it operates:

It's legendary calm with in Alentejo like to enjoy every moment of life, and so we opened the door of the Villa Santa in Estremoz, so you can taste the wines of João Portugal Ramos with time and tranquility necessary, the good way Alentejo.

The pretext is to know the work of one of the most prestigious producers in the country and, by the way, also discover up the reasons for his passion for the Alentejo.

 Special features of vineyard or winery:

This Winery placed Estremoz on the route of the great wines, welcoming travelers from around the world. A walk or a lunch with friends, customers or employees are an excellent excuse and offer the time and tranquility ideal for here taste their wines and local cuisine. With store, tasting room, meeting room and dining room, a cellar Vila Santa opens the doors for you to discover, taste and take home wines that are the perfect memory of this land.

 

j po4rtrugal vinhos.jpg

 

to be continued...

Post by: António Duro

Autoria e outros dados (tags, etc)

publicado às 15:15


Mais sobre mim

foto do autor




Arquivo

  1. 2016
  2. J
  3. F
  4. M
  5. A
  6. M
  7. J
  8. J
  9. A
  10. S
  11. O
  12. N
  13. D
  14. 2015
  15. J
  16. F
  17. M
  18. A
  19. M
  20. J
  21. J
  22. A
  23. S
  24. O
  25. N
  26. D
  27. 2014
  28. J
  29. F
  30. M
  31. A
  32. M
  33. J
  34. J
  35. A
  36. S
  37. O
  38. N
  39. D